mikejohnchapman
Challenge Tour Pro
It's that time of the year and bunkers are filling with water. A local rule has been applied which outlines a new procedure at our course.
Bunkers affected are marked with a blue stake and a player is entitled to free relief under 16.1 - no problem here.
However, the way the LR is phrased they are designating the bunker as GUR in the general area and thus relief MAY be taken or the ball played as it lies (IE from the bunker).
My question is if you have designated the bunker out of play and it becomes an abnormal ground condition in the general area why would you allow someone to play the ball as it lies?
Bunkers affected are marked with a blue stake and a player is entitled to free relief under 16.1 - no problem here.
However, the way the LR is phrased they are designating the bunker as GUR in the general area and thus relief MAY be taken or the ball played as it lies (IE from the bunker).
My question is if you have designated the bunker out of play and it becomes an abnormal ground condition in the general area why would you allow someone to play the ball as it lies?