A GUR question.

Slime

Tour Winner
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20,325
Location
Surrey
Visit site
On Thursday my ball finished in a bunker with a GUR sign in it, no probs, I just took a free drop.
However, my mate's ball was a few inches outside the bunker but, in order to play his shot, his feet would have been inside the bunker.
I suggested he played it as it lay and he'd play it with his feet in the bunker but another in our group suggested he got a free drop as he'd be playing it whilst standing in the GUR.
What is the correct ruling?
 
I'm going to throw in a guess, but normally if your feet are in the GUR you get the free drop don't you? So I don't see any reason it would be different here.
 
2nd bullet point below (16.1a) shows the relevant section. GUR is an Abnormal Course Condition.

When Relief Is Allowed​

(1) Meaning of Interference by Abnormal Course Condition. Interference exists when any one of these is true:
  • The player’s ball touches or is in or on an abnormal course condition,
  • An abnormal course condition physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or area of intended swing, or
  • Only when the ball is on the putting green, an abnormal course condition on or off the putting green intervenes on the line of play.
 
Top