• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Dispute over handicap after result agreed

KenL

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
9,754
Location
East Lothian
Visit site
In a 4 ball match. If all parties agree the result after 18 holes, what is the correct situation if it transpires that one of the WINNING pair played off the wrong handicap?
Thanks in advance.

edit- winning pair.
 
Last edited:
If the system was wrong then it should be classified as a Committee or Administrative Error.

20.2d/2 – Administrative Errors Should Always Be Corrected
The time frame in Rule 20.2d, which deals with penalties, does not apply to administrative mistakes by the Committee. There is no time limit for correcting administrative mistakes.

For example, there is no time limit in correcting:
  • A handicap that was miscalculated by the Committee causing another player to win the competition.
 
If the system was wrong then it should be classified as a Committee or Administrative Error.

20.2d/2 – Administrative Errors Should Always Be Corrected
The time frame in Rule 20.2d, which deals with penalties, does not apply to administrative mistakes by the Committee. There is no time limit for correcting administrative mistakes.

For example, there is no time limit in correcting:
  • A handicap that was miscalculated by the Committee causing another player to win the competition.

So, what should happen in this situation?
Matchplay and the time to play the ties has passed.
Thanks
 
Top