Complete swing failure

inc0gnito

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Was at the range on Friday and didn’t hit particularly well. But that was nothing in comparison to today. 20 balls with a 7 iron and one good shot. All the rest didn’t get off the ground. Most flew low right slices. It’s like I was a complete beginner again.

I know I’m not the first to post a thread about a bad range session, but I am genuinely gazumped as to what went wrong. I don’t normally slice irons at all and I usually get them off the ground at least.

I’m at a loss as to how to explain it because I felt like wasn’t coming over the top. I really can’t think of what would cause such bad hitting. I did struggle to slow the swing. Even with effort as soon as the downswing started I was automatically swinging it too hard.

Help me understand what went wrong so I can pull myself out of this despair laden hole I’m in!

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
As a ray of light, I went to the range a while back on the Monday. Shanksville from nowhere after a period of steady play. No reason for it. Wednesday it was 50/50 between average and shanks and on the Friday about 30/40/30 between shanks/good/average strikes. Competition on the Saturday and shanked loads in warm up. First hole is 165 yard par 3 and all I did was stand there praying it went forward. Eighteen holes later and I'd got 44 points a three shot cut but felt I scabbed the ball round ugly just trying not to shank

Suffice to say, no idea where they came from, where they went and what happened on the course. I played on the Sunday off the new handicap and got early 30's but hit it much better. I would suggest it's probably something stupid like poor tempo and trying too hard. Take a breath, write it off and start again next time. If they persist have a chat with a pro and look at your set up and swing

Maninblack4612

Tour Winner
www.camera-angles.co.uk