Clarification Please

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 16999
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 16999

Guest
Just need to be put right as our 4 Ball got ourselves confused while playing yesterday.
One of the guys drove his ball off the tee into a gorse bush on the side of the fairway, all 4 of us clearly saw the ball enter the bush, he then played a provisional and as normal found the fairway.
We moved forward and tried to find his first ball but the bush is too thick and we couldn't find it.
What are the options available to him?
 
Thanks Guys.
One of the guys thought he had the option of a drop keeping the bush between him and the hole as we all saw the ball enter the bushes, I thought he was confusing that with a ball entering water.
The guy who's ball it was played the provisional anyway, but the talk was whether he could've saved a shot.
 
Thanks Guys.
One of the guys thought he had the option of a drop keeping the bush between him and the hole as we all saw the ball enter the bushes, I thought he was confusing that with a ball entering water.
The guy who's ball it was played the provisional anyway, but the talk was whether he could've saved a shot.

That would only apply if the ball was found and identified - then declared unplayable! Simply knowing where it was (or virtually certain) is not enough in this case!

Had the 'gorse bush' been water, then that would have indeed been an option. And known or virtually certain WOULD apply in that case - though playing a provisional would have meant that there was, at least initial, doubt on the part of the player, so potentially 3-off-the-tee anyway! There would have needed to be no other possibility than it being in the water in order to discard the provisional and apply the KVC aspect of the Water Hazard rule.
 
That would only apply if the ball was found and identified - then declared unplayable! Simply knowing where it was (or virtually certain) is not enough in this case!

Had the 'gorse bush' been water, then that would have indeed been an option. And known or virtually certain WOULD apply in that case - though playing a provisional would have meant that there was, at least initial, doubt on the part of the player, so potentially 3-off-the-tee anyway! There would have needed to be no other possibility than it being in the water in order to discard the provisional and apply the KVC aspect of the Water Hazard rule.
Cheers, Like I replied to Bob, the confusion arose when he was adamant about it being an option, the gorse bush is quite large and thick and no chance of getting near the middle. Probably a mixture of something done in a bounce game stepping over the line.
 
Cheers, Like I replied to Bob, the confusion arose when he was adamant about it being an option, the gorse bush is quite large and thick and no chance of getting near the middle. Probably a mixture of something done in a bounce game stepping over the line.

This is one of those cases where carrying a Rule Book and requesting he show where that's in the Rules is worthwhile - as it's pretty simple to look up, unlike some cases that can be awkward to find!

Or to put a Beer or equivalent on whether he is right or not and find out later. That way the 'lesson' of the myth is likely to be remembered next time! And the 'adamant' guy might be slightly less so next time too! :whistle: I'm a couple of gallons up for such cases, though admit to being wrong once or twice (but certainly know the correct rulings now!)! :whistle:

A claim (for Matchplay) or playing 2 balls (for Strokeplay), with the proper ruling being and result of hole/score being resolved later, for such instances can help, but they have their own Rules, which need to be followed!
 
Isn't there something in the rules about only having to have vc without needing to find the ball in certain abnormal ground conditions?

Possibly where the confusion stems from?
 
If they are not new to golf there's no excuse for not knowing the ruling in this case.

Agreed, but as previously put, over confident people can put doubt into your mind and if the game had of been important I would've suggested playing 2 balls rather than delay the groups behind us while we discussed it.
 
Thanks Guys.
One of the guys thought he had the option of a drop keeping the bush between him and the hole as we all saw the ball enter the bushes, I thought he was confusing that with a ball entering water.
The guy who's ball it was played the provisional anyway, but the talk was whether he could've saved a shot.

If he didn't like his provisional he could have played another ball from the tee under rule 28 but that would be his 5th stroke.
That ball relates to his provisional not the original.
 
If he didn't like his provisional he could have played another ball from the tee under rule 28 but that would be his 5th stroke.
That ball relates to his provisional not the original.
Cheers, more knowledge added to the bank
 
Isn't there something in the rules about only having to have vc without needing to find the ball in certain abnormal ground conditions?

Possibly where the confusion stems from?

Yeah if you lose it in Abnornmal ground/GUR then you can take a free drop using the point wich it last crossed in to the area
 
Top