Better Clubs - Am I wasting my money?

JakeWS

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Hi, I know this is my first post, I've browsed for quite a while and finally got round to joining.

I have been golfing for a few years on and off then towards the back end of last year joined a club and started to have lessons. I've since developed a love for the game and play usually at least twice a week. I've broken 100 and now start to consistently shoot mid 90's.

All of this has been done with some £100 clubs off Amazon until a few months ago when I purchased a nice Cobra Driver, which admittedly I can hit better than my old driver I think, but then I have spent ages reading and reading online and can't decide if all the chat about clubs is substantial or just a way of getting more money out of me.

So if anyone in real terms can identify the Pro's of better clubs and what they will actually do for my game, I seem to have no problem with distance using my cheap clubs, an 8 Iron is ~ 150 yards, so what real difference will I notice from a good set?

Also I was going to get them Fitted, the place where I have my lessons offers a free fitting if you by the clubs from them, so I assume this is worthwhile, my teacher has told me their club fitter does fit a few tour players, but is there any way to check who a good local fitter would be?

Thanks in advance

Jake

Hacker Khan

Yurt Dwelling, Yoghurt Knitter
Visit site
Welcome aboard the Ninky Nonk.

Mostly new clubs will give you more forgiveness (assuming you get game improver clubs) , so you'll get longer distances from off centre strikes. But don't get caught up in distance and how far an 8 iron goes between different sets, as all manufacturers have slightly different configurations for their clubs in terms of loft shaft length etc etc. So one manufacturers 8 iron will be the same as another's 7 iron. No one makes bad clubs nowadays so best chose a set that suits your eye and you feel comfortable with, and get fitted for them if you want.