Banditry

Backache

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Prompted by another thread. Have you ever deliberately or accidentally been a bandit and played of a higher handicap than you thought you should?

My most obvious experience was having been away from golf for a number of years I joined a new club and put in my cards. I was gien a handicap of 20 I think. I practiced hard and thought I was a few shots better and knew I was entering a competition for a society of which I was a member non golfing but had an annual golf match.

I thought I might be regarded as a bit of a bandit and played in a medal the week before to try and get my handicap down. I played terribly and went up by point one which took me up to 21 and then promptly won the competition by a stroke. :oops::oops::oops: I was feling very sheepish collecting the trophy and promptly dropped it.

timd77

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I first joined a club just under 3 years ago, prior to that I had been playing 5-6 times a year for a few years. Golfshake had my handicap at around 23 I think it was. My first official handicap was 30! Not only was I disappointed, I also felt like a bit of a bandit, and so after playing a few more rounds (not comps, pre-whs), I asked the handicap secretary if I could be cut.

Went straight down to 20, which was a bit more than expected and it took me a while to catch up! Glad I did it though.

Voyager EMH

Slipper Wearing Plucker of Pheasants
Visit site
Only when I was a teenager in the 1970s and my handicap did not come down fast enough to keep up with my fast improvements.
Played 4 over par off 11 handicap, then won a trophy following week with level par off 8 handicap.
One week as a bandit, never again since.

Bratty

Princess Pouty (Queen of Fish Lips)
Visit site
I haven't, but my regular playing partner went from 17 to 22 when the WHS came in.
Declaring "I get 2 shots on this hole" with a smile and not a hint of embarrassment soon became troubling and rather frowned at!