4BBB Matchplay - Op removed loose divot from bunker b4 playing shot from bunker

SVB

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
689
Location
Nailsworth, Glos.
Visit site
I was playing a 4BBB matchplay game today, one of my opponents drove into a bunker off the tee. Before playing out, he removed a divot from the bunker that had obviously been taken from the fairway by someone else and not found and replaced.

I know it is against the rules to remove anything 'natural' from a bunker, ie a loose impediment (except stones as we have a local rule that I think is common) so I think he broke the rules. For the sake of argument, the diviot in question was quite some way from the ball so irrelevent to the shot but I don't think this matters?

If it is an infringment what is the penaly in a 4BBB context - is he out of the hole or does he and his partner forfit the hole?

Thanks,

Simon
 
It is a penalty to remove the divot if it's lying in the same bunker as the ball; whether it interferes with the shot or not is irrelevant.
Only the player is disqualified from the hole, not his partner.

In match play you have the option of ignoring a rules transgression. However, you cannot point it out and then say that you're going to ignore it, as that would amount to waiving the rules, which is a DQ. If you want to point it out, then wait until you have teed off at the next hole; at that point it's too late to make a claim.
 
It is a penalty to remove the divot if it's lying in the same bunker as the ball; whether it interferes with the shot or not is irrelevant.
Only the player is disqualified from the hole, not his partner.

In match play you have the option of ignoring a rules transgression. However, you cannot point it out and then say that you're going to ignore it, as that would amount to waiving the rules, which is a DQ. If you want to point it out, then wait until you have teed off at the next hole; at that point it's too late to make a claim.

Really? Whereabouts in the rules is that...as it is the first I have heard of it. Surely just ignoring a rules break is just waiving the rules anyway, whether it is pointed out or not!
 
Surely just ignoring a rules break is just waiving the rules anyway, whether it is pointed out or not!

It is not against the rules to waive a rule. it is against the rules to agree to waive a rule. It takes two to tango.

(Technically, you exclude the operation of a rule and waive a penalty,)
 
Last edited:
well, you learn something new! Still not entirely sure why you wouldn't want to penalise your opponent in match play though

You might be having a real great game and don't want to ruin the fun by pulling you opponent/s on a trivial infringement where, maybe, they gained no advantage, like in the original post
 
Top