SVB
Challenge Tour Pro
I was playing a 4BBB matchplay game today, one of my opponents drove into a bunker off the tee. Before playing out, he removed a divot from the bunker that had obviously been taken from the fairway by someone else and not found and replaced.
I know it is against the rules to remove anything 'natural' from a bunker, ie a loose impediment (except stones as we have a local rule that I think is common) so I think he broke the rules. For the sake of argument, the diviot in question was quite some way from the ball so irrelevent to the shot but I don't think this matters?
If it is an infringment what is the penaly in a 4BBB context - is he out of the hole or does he and his partner forfit the hole?
Thanks,
Simon
I know it is against the rules to remove anything 'natural' from a bunker, ie a loose impediment (except stones as we have a local rule that I think is common) so I think he broke the rules. For the sake of argument, the diviot in question was quite some way from the ball so irrelevent to the shot but I don't think this matters?
If it is an infringment what is the penaly in a 4BBB context - is he out of the hole or does he and his partner forfit the hole?
Thanks,
Simon