XR OS vs Steelheads

Rcaslake

Hacker
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm off to get myself my first set of irons this week and just wondering if Callaway steelhead are much better than the XR OS's. obviously I will test both out before deciding.

but as a complete beginner will i notice much difference in club as the Steelheads are £550 for 5-sw and the XR are £300 which is a considerable difference.

Thanks!

Rcaslake

Hacker
Visit site
the pro giving me lessons has recommended the steelhead but as you say there's potential to have 10 extra lessons on that price.

My swing is quite inconsistent at the moment as I started playing 6 weeks ago so I will just go with the flow at fitting.

Cheers

Rcaslake

Hacker
Visit site
I'm not sure on his reasoning. he isn't selling them to me so it isn't a commission issue. providing I hit okay with the XR Irons maybe that is the way for me to go.

upon reflection 550 seems a bit jump for my first set of irons X)

BristolMike

Head Pro
Visit site
Will you be ordering the, standard length/standard lie? If you need longer etc that could be his thinking. You wouldn't be able to get the OS custom fit

Rcaslake

Hacker
Visit site
he did mention it would be worth me getting a +0.25 on the club length but again can only really go on what he says. It's an expensive mistake so just wanted the facts before I invest

gmhubble

Head Pro
Visit site
I have the steelhead xr pro and they are fantastic - chose them over the Mizuno in the end and they are beautiful clubs - you must must give them a try

Rcaslake

Hacker
Visit site
I was told the pros weren't overly forgiving. and as I am currently topping 1 in 5 shots I'm all about forgiveness! I have requested a price match at AG and if they honour it I will pop in tomorrow and try a few out:

XR OS
Steelhead
Steelhead Pro
Ping G

gmhubble

Head Pro
Visit site