Why are most golfers today rubbish?

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
When I started playing golf about 150 years ago, I had the following...

Dunlop rubber shoes
A half set of cut down irons, a 3 and 5 "wood" an old cut down putter (none of which were custom fitted) and any ball I could find. No waterproofs or umberella and a small carry bag with a broken zip in the big pocket.
We had no 150 markers and certainly no laser/gps/yardage charts.
We had no junior coaching or video analysis /iphone apps/vidoe cameras and any other app you can think of.
The course was playable with the greens probably running about 6 on the stimp.
We had no "proper comps" as juniors because we weren't considered good enough to be allowed to play off the white tees.
But luckily, one of the juniors dad would organise a comp for us and put up a sleeve of 3 balls for the winner.
Fortunately, as the junior section grew we were allowed to have more comps but always off the yellows, never the whites. By the time I was 16 I was off 2 and not the lowest junior.

Anyway, my question is why is it with every gadget and amazing technology we have available today, some golfers still cant break 80?

Custom fit everything.
Electric trolleys
GPS
Video lessons
GI clubs
GI balls
GI wedges
Swing gurus
Mind gurus
Short game gurus
Putting gurus
Masses of free info on the internet.
Etc etc etc

I wonder if golf has become more of a sport you improve by getting the best kit rather than practicing with what you've already got.
When was the last time you bought a piece of golf equipment because you needed it not because you believed the advertising hype which told you it would improve your game?

So, with all the improvements we have today, why aren't there a lot more "good players" out there or is it simply that today's technology helps the average golfer play a little better without having to do too much practice?

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Visit site