when did you last play a round?

MikeH

Content Director
Staff member
Visit site
Morning all

Waking up this morning I realise it's now exactly one month and one day since I played my last game of golf. I haven't even been to the range. In fact apart from having a waggle with the clubs we sent out to the reader test panel just before Christmas I have barely touched a club.

This amounts to a major break from the game for me. I'm racking my brain I'm pretty sure that this is now the by the longest I have been without picking up a golf club since I started playing the game seriously.

The reason for the extended absence has as much to do with the weather and time of the year as the fact the last time I played (December 4 on the Old Course at Walton Heath) was easily the worst round I played all year leaving me thoroughly hacked off with the game.

Having made a very scabby double bogey at the 1st I redeemed myself with a good drive at the 2nd but with 200 plus still to go it was a tough shot. The fact my ball was on a hanging lie with the ball below my feet should have had me reaching for a mid iron and laying up but stupidly I opted for a hero shot with my 4 wood.

Predictably the ball went pretty much straight right - narrowly missing taking out Rob Smith (GM's course rankings moderator) on the way before nosediving into a load of bracken and general bund. Lost ball.

Successive pulled drives at 3, 4 and 5 meant the lost ball tally had reached four and I was nervously asking GM's instruction editor Neil Tappin how many balls he had in his bag.

At the 6th its started raining and by the 8th a weird fog had rolled in across the heath that only really lifted as we got to the 15th.