what loft for driver

bigslice

Tour Winner
Visit site
hi ive been using a 12 degree driver for one season. getting not bad distance but very high. feeling more confident with it. but would prefer more length than air time. any advice on what to go for 8.5, 9.5 or 10.5.
years ago i couldnt hit a driver couldnt get it up. but using a tm r7 cgb max gets it high most of the time. any thoughts advice please

GB72

Money List Winner
Visit site
I am no expert but from my fitting it also depends on the club, shaft the lot. I needed a bit higher launch angle but 6 drivers of the same loft produced markedly different results. Take, for example, the Taylormade r9. No matter how much loft I could not get that one up on the air.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I agree that loft is only a small part of it. You need to find a shaft that works for you and gives you optimum performance and the only really accurate way is to get on a launch monitor or get custom fitted.

painterboy

Assistant Pro
Visit site
hi ive been using a 12 degree driver for one season. getting not bad distance but very high. feeling more confident with it. but would prefer more length than air time. any advice on what to go for 8.5, 9.5 or 10.5.
years ago i couldnt hit a driver couldnt get it up. but using a tm r7 cgb max gets it high most of the time. any thoughts advice please

For many years I used a 9% driver,kidding myself this would give me more distance.
Decided to get fitted,and ended up with 11% loft and a regular light shaft.
Outcome? More distance, and better accuracy.
Might be a good idea to find out if it's your swing that is giving you a high ball flight.

Getting the right shaft is very important as other posters say.

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
I agree that loft is only a small part of it. You need to find a shaft that works for you and gives you optimum performance and the only really accurate way is to get on a launch monitor or get custom fitted.

I agree.