Loft increase on its own or with closed face? Beginner with Tendinosis.

Dilly75

Visit site
I am new to golf, been playing about 3 months. Ive been getting on ok but the more effort I put into getting more distance the more I get some pretty impressive aerobatic slices.

So I went for a lesson, we were back to basics and my grip was changed etc. Coach said forget distance improvement at this stage, which I understand.

I practiced about 4 weeks then went back Friday for my second lesson. It was horrific, I just couldnt hit the ball even off the tee. No idea if im nervous infront of the coach or if its because the practice area is straight up a steep hill but I couldnt produce enough hits for him to really comment. Very embaracing and disheartening. I played at my local course the next day again and was back to my ok self, so Im big time off lessons for a bit.

I had a good discussion with the coach and he suggested increasing the loft of my driver, its a Srixon Z545 10.5°. Now the thing is loft is increased at the same time of closing the face. I said doesnt that mean i am tweaking the club to correct my slice rather than fixing my slice? He said yes but you want to hit the ball dont you? (he wasnt being sh*tty!)

My son has a Ping G5 12° but I have also got a Ping G10 9°. My son has almost certainly a faster swing than mine, he generally hits straight and very high. So he is going to try the Ping G10 9°. This might lower his hits and give him more distance.

So I have two options. I can use his Ping G5 12°. I used this on Saturday and can hit it ok for me. Or i can stick with my Srixon and adjust it by closing the face up to 2° which I have read raises the loft up to about 1.25° which would make it about 11.75°, 12° for arguments sake.

Adjustable drivers are obviously the norm these days but whats your thoughts for someone this new to golf making club adjustments to counteract poor swing?