What happens here ?

You take your practice swing somewhere else 🤣🤣 pretty sure rose did this a year or so ago.

Oof it was 6 years ago..!

 
Last edited:
Wasn't there an incident where Zach Johnson accidentally hit his ball (directly) with a practise swing, but he was allowed to replace it with no penalty because he hadn't intended to hit a shot? Surely this case with the divot moving the ball is the same deal? Just replace it?
 
Wasn't there an incident where Zach Johnson accidentally hit his ball (directly) with a practise swing, but he was allowed to replace it with no penalty because he hadn't intended to hit a shot? Surely this case with the divot moving the ball is the same deal? Just replace it?
Was this on the putting green?
 
Wasn't there an incident where Zach Johnson accidentally hit his ball (directly) with a practise swing, but he was allowed to replace it with no penalty because he hadn't intended to hit a shot? Surely this case with the divot moving the ball is the same deal? Just replace it?

ZJ's ball wasn't in play though
 
Was this on the putting green?
Nope

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www....ing-replaces-with-no-penalty-at-13th-hole/amp
Wasn't there an incident where Zach Johnson accidentally hit his ball (directly) with a practise swing, but he was allowed to replace it with no penalty because he hadn't intended to hit a shot? Surely this case with the divot moving the ball is the same deal? Just replace it?

The difference with Zack is the ball is not “in play” yet where on the fairway etc the ball is in play
 
Wasn't there an incident where Zach Johnson accidentally hit his ball (directly) with a practise swing, but he was allowed to replace it with no penalty because he hadn't intended to hit a shot? Surely this case with the divot moving the ball is the same deal? Just replace it?
Depends on whether or not the ball is on a putting green - on the green, no penalty for accidentally moving the ball, elsewhere, tough.
Edit. But see other answers regarding ball on tee & not in play yet.
 
Well that's another distinction without a difference really. You either meant to hit the ball or you didn't! What difference does it make if it's on the tee or the fairway.
 
Depends on whether or not the ball is on a putting green - on the green, no penalty for accidentally moving the ball, elsewhere, tough.
Edit. But see other answers regarding ball on tee & not in play yet.
I saw another video where a player tried to slide his putter behind the ball to take his putter and accidentally smacked it with the toe of his putter in doing so. So from what you're saying he would have been allowed to replace the ball with no penalty then?
 
Well that's another distinction without a difference really. You either meant to hit the ball or you didn't! What difference does it make if it's on the tee or the fairway.
The ball isn't in play, and plenty of times I've knocked the ball off the tee when setting up for a drive . You really think the 1 that some joker shouts should count?
 
I saw another video where a player tried to slide his putter behind the ball to take his putter and accidentally smacked it with the toe of his putter in doing so. So from what you're saying he would have been allowed to replace the ball with no penalty then?
Yes, if on the green.
 
The ball isn't in play, and plenty of times I've knocked the ball off the tee when setting up for a drive . You really think the 1 that some joker shouts should count?
No of course not, I meant the other way round. Accidentally moving the ball on the tee doesn't count, but accidentally moving your ball on the fairway without even touching it does count. Seems bizarrely inconsistent to me. Should be able to replace it free of penalty either way.

Yes, if on the green.
That's funny, in the video him and his playing partner just cracked up laughing - I forget which golfer it was. But I didn't see if he got a penalty or not as the vid cut off. So I guess he didn't.
 
How do you word it and work it? It would be to easy to abuse.
I dunno, it's not like the existing rules are ever worded that well anyway. :LOL:

Exactly, every duffed shot would become a " I didnt mean to hit it " moment
Yeah it could do, if you were a moron. I think if someone addresses the ball with their club it's pretty clear they're trying to hit it, as opposed to taking a practise swing two feet behind the ball. :rolleyes:
 
I dunno, it's not like the existing rules are ever worded that well anyway. :LOL:


Yeah it could do, if you were a moron. I think if someone addresses the ball with their club it's pretty clear they're trying to hit it, as opposed to taking a practise swing two feet behind the ball.:rolleyes:

Pretty sure this guy starts his actual swing 2 yards behind the ball, too easy for him to swing and miss & say no foul, it was just a practice swing mate, I was clearly well behind the ball :sneaky:
happy-gilmore.jpg
 
Top