What do you do?

  • Thread starter Thread starter guest100718
  • Start date Start date
Fc hits a great chip that roles up and into the hole. But it wedges between hole and flag and is not holed out. Before can say anything he leans down, picks it up. Do you make him replace it or let it go?

I had no idea that this was a breach of the rules and have been playing golf for a long time. Now that I have been made aware of it, I cannot understand why it would be a breach of the rules really. It is in the hole, is it not? I look forward to being enlightened further.....
 
I had no idea that this was a breach of the rules and have been playing golf for a long time. Now that I have been made aware of it, I cannot understand why it would be a breach of the rules really. It is in the hole, is it not? I look forward to being enlightened further.....

Think it's not officially classed in the hole until the whole of the ball breaks the top line of the cup ?
 
I had no idea that this was a breach of the rules and have been playing golf for a long time. Now that I have been made aware of it, I cannot understand why it would be a breach of the rules really. It is in the hole, is it not? I look forward to being enlightened further.....
Many words in the rules are not defined in the usual way. they are defined in the rules themselves and tjat definition takes precedence. Play of a whole is not complete until the ball is "holed." You have been given that link. A clue that there is a unique word or definition is that the word is in italics in the rule.
 
Id be very reluctant to play with someone who "dropped" a ball even if it was just in a roll up.
In fact, I'd expect to be cold shouldered if I was caught doing it.
I once played with a guy who, when looking for his lost ball, regularly said "Ok lads, you go take your shots and I'll look whilst you're playing them".
He always found it.

I think I played with his brother at my old club. To this day I have never seen someone hit their ball in so many trees and bushes and not only find his ball, but remarkably always in a spot where he could get a swing on it and had a path back out to the fairway. Oddly it was always he who found the ball and always when our other FC and I had our back turned. We were convinced he was dropping balls but never actually saw him do it so can't be 100%
 
Ok. Who's Rubin Ripley please?:confused:

An old "friend" who cheated his way to glory on many a week-end away.
He very rarely lost a ball, would very often (usually twice a round and sometimes more) get his score wrong on a hole...funny how he never seemed to make it more, always less.
Leftie himself was done out of his winnings at Forest Pines thanks to Ruben Ripley. We couldn't prove anything but knowing his past misdemeanors have no doubts in our own minds.

I personally saw him drop his marker at least 3 or 4 feet nearer the hole on his way to "mark" his ball on a green at Landhydrock (Cornwall) one year, he picked his ball up, put it in his pocket, and then replaced it where his marker had landed and continued as if nothing had happened. As I say, I saw it with my own eyes but was begged not to say anything by the other guys in our fourball (they hadn't seen it) because it would have created an "atmosphere".
To this day, it annoys me that I didn't pull him up for it and show him up as the cheating git we have always known he is.
 
Last edited:
What would you do if you see a fella in another group cheating (improving his lie) during a competition?
To add to the mix the fella seems to be quite a popular guy at the club, he also has some history with my regular PP who also saw the incident so it could possibly seen as sour grapes.
 
What would you do if you see a fella in another group cheating (improving his lie) during a competition?
To add to the mix the fella seems to be quite a popular guy at the club, he also has some history with my regular PP who also saw the incident so it could possibly seen as sour grapes.
You report it. It seems that so many guys are called "cheats" but nobody wants to do anything about it. Sign of the times it seems in many walks of life.
 
Played in the County Autumn meeting better ball competition at Llangollen today. As our group were walking from the eighth green to the next tee about fifty yards away there was a FC putting from the tenth green across about twenty feet of light rough onto the thirteenth green. As I understand the rules, if you are on the wrong green you have to move the ball from that green to the NPR or there is a 2 shot penalty as Noh found out recently in The Barclays. Just because he was putting should not make any difference. When I mentioned this to the other three in our group they thought he was ok to do this. The other two groups playing ten and thirteen obviously didn't see a problem with it either.
 
You are quite right - you cannot play from a wrong putting green - it doesn't matter what club you use. 2 stroke or loss of hole penalty. Rule 25-3 applies.
 
Another one the other day, our 17th runs alongside a practice area and the odd ball or 2 comes over. As I walk to the green, I look back to see FC taking Practice swings, before setting himself up as he would for anyshot and hitting the stray balls back over to the praactice area...sigh...
 
Another one the other day, our 17th runs alongside a practice area and the odd ball or 2 comes over. As I walk to the green, I look back to see FC taking Practice swings, before setting himself up as he would for anyshot and hitting the stray balls back over to the praactice area...sigh...

I think I've read a discussion about this is the past. Can't remember the outcome. I'm sure the rules experts will be along to help out

Here you go

7-2/5 Hitting Practice Range Ball Back to Range
Q During play of a hole, a player saw some balls from the adjoining practice range lying on the course and flicked one back to the range with his club. Is there a penalty under Rule 7-2?
A In some circumstances the hitting of a practice range ball back towards the range during the play of a hole would be a breach of Rule 7-2, but the casual flicking of a range ball, apparently only for the purpose of tidying up the course, is not a breach.

So that's clear ! It depends...!
 
Last edited:
I think I've read a discussion about this is the past. Can't remember the outcome. I'm sure the rules experts will be along to help out

Here you go

7-2/5 Hitting Practice Range Ball Back to Range
Q During play of a hole, a player saw some balls from the adjoining practice range lying on the course and flicked one back to the range with his club. Is there a penalty under Rule 7-2?
A In some circumstances the hitting of a practice range ball back towards the range during the play of a hole would be a breach of Rule 7-2, but the casual flicking of a range ball, apparently only for the purpose of tidying up the course, is not a breach.

So that's clear ! It depends...!

Yes thats my point, this wasnt casual flicking of balls. This was full pre shot etc..
 
Fc hits a great chip that roles up and into the hole. But it wedges between hole and flag and is not holed out. Before can say anything he leans down, picks it up. Do you make him replace it or let it go?

So, what IS the rule there then? I would have assumed that if it was wedged between the inside edge of the hole and the flag pole, then it's in. It's only a foul if it hits the flag stick when putting?
 
Last edited:
You are quite right - you cannot play from a wrong putting green - it doesn't matter what club you use. 2 stroke or loss of hole penalty. Rule 25-3 applies.

Odd. At West Chiltington and many other clubs, holes have shared greens. How do you define "wrong green".
 
Top