What benefit does shiny new stuff bring?

Ian_S

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
A question brought about based on my last two golf purchases, a dozen lake balls and a Palm Springs Visa 5 wood for £20. I've no doubt that new Pro V1's and a Ping fairway wood are better, but I'm fairly new to the game and really any club will do me for now, and if I'm going to lose half a dozen balls per round I might as well make them cheap ones.

I can imagine it's easy to pick when to start buying better balls (i.e. I can afford to buy them when I rarely lose one per round) but at what point will I know when it's time to put the discount clubs away and buy the good quality clubs? And what benefit would I expect to see from the 'better' clubs?

miniTIGER95

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Sometimes it's not expensive stuff which is best for you, i've used countless pro V1's, Nike one's etc but my ball of choice for months has been Wilson staff Reds. And the best club i ever got was a yonex second hand 7 wood from nevada bobs, for a massive cut price. Be smart search around a bit and look at the second hand clubs, save so much money. Oh and them yonex irons you have are good they will do you for a while :)

Hobbit

Mordorator
Visit site
For me, one of the main benefits is it actually makes me want to get out there and play. For example, if I've been having a rough time on the course for a while I find some new kit reinvigorates my game and doesn't come with any hangups.

Lump

Tour Winner
Visit site
I don't like to swap around my clubs. I've thought long and hard about my setup. I take my time buying it to get it right
But what I do like is new golf gloves, nothing beats that feeling a fresh glove every couple of weeks. I must buy 5ish gloves a month. (I have a stupid habit of losing them too)

Dave B

Q-School Graduate
Visit site