Wedges Wedges Wedges

MattyV

Hacker
Visit site
Hi guys, I've been following this forum for ages, but still pretty much a newbie here and finally plucked up the confidence to post a new thread. I just wanted to pick your brains quickly.

I'm a 15 handicap and I've been playing with the same wedges for quite a while now. They are Titleist Vokey 52, 56 and 60, and were passed on by a friend who upgraded. I haven't got round to buying my own wedges yet as in the last 18 months I've bought new irons (TM R11's) and a new driver (910D2) and I think the Mrs would have killed me if I bought anything else in that time!

But now looking at my wedges, they seem tired and playing every week I think I could do with some new grooves.

The big question is what wedges would you recommend? I would of course love to stay with Vokeys, but with the SM4's at around £80 per wedge, I would be looking at £240+ for three wedges! Yikes! I popped into American golf the other day to buy some new balls & tees and saw that they still have a number of Taylormade RAC Tumble wedges, and at only £50 per wedge which is more affordable. Has anyone played with these wedges and know anyone that has? I know they are a few years old, but I quite like the classic look and seem nice.
I know quite a lot of people like Cleveland these days as well. Any other thoughts from anyone?

Finally, my PW is 45 degrees. So if I play 52, 56 and 60, which leaves 7 degrees between PW and gap wedge. Do you think that is too much? I sometimes find it annoying, but most of the time it seems ok, so I think I *might* stay with that combo.

Love to know your thoughts,
Thanks guys

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Welcome.