Wear a glove or not ?

El Diablo

Assistant Pro
Visit site
So do you wear a glove and if not, why not ? And what about when it rains ?

Contextually, I have been suffering with a hand injury (thumb in particular) and doing no more than chip & putt for a few weeks.

With a 4BBB QF on Friday I have been knocking a few gentle full shots with an iron in the net in my garden (not wearing a glove) but today was the first venture onto a course and hit the full range of clubs.

Hit a few balls in the club net wearing a glove and had more pain than I would care for - removed glove and almost pain free.

Played without a glove for 9 holes which I have never done before and apart from being rusty and a bit tentative hacked it round ok.

Chatted to the club pro post round and he thought the glove I was using was ok and probably the extra grip was causing the problem - pain felt almost like the thumb got stretched as I swung particularly with the longer clubs.

Suggestion is cut the thumb off a glove for now perhaps - anyway need to hit a lot more balls between now and Friday to find my swing !

msbyrne

Visit site
So I'm a doctor and I would say if you're getting pain, glove or no glove, you shouldn't be playing at all. Rehab the injury with chips and putts etc. but don't push to a full swing until you can do it pain free. Nothing worse than prolonging an injury and little strains in fingers and thumbs can last a long time unless you leave them be a little while.

garyinderry

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I have a couple but only ever put it on in a monsoon.

Hate the feeling of one on my hand. Doesn't even feel like its me holding the club when I do. Complete waste of time and money for me.

El Diablo

Assistant Pro
Visit site