Transgender Policy For Competitions (Serious Question)

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
We are looking at whether we should be adding a policy statement to our competition and open rules covering transgender entries.

Has anyone given this any thought or attempted to put something in writing?

sweaty sock

Hacker
Visit site
Pretty sure Open qualifying had a transgender female playing, kind of best of both worlds though as a CIS woman would need to be high placed in an LPGA major to get into regional qualifying....

I really need to educate myself on acceptable language, which I will do now...

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
https://t.co/JlhGiqjJit

Some interesting reading, from Ross Tucker on twitter.
I'm no expert at all, but one thing I often see is people talking about testosterone and the fact that transgender (M to F) sportspeople have to take suppressants. But is that the only issue?? Surely there are strength benefits to having essentially a male skeleton and muscle density?

On the topic of golf though I don't feel it's an issue at amateur club level really. Since the game is based on a hell of a lot more than just strength. Obviously the bigger discussion points have been around purely strength-based endeavours such as the Olympic weightlifting, and things like boxing.

sweaty sock

Hacker
Visit site
I'm no expert at all, but one thing I often see is people talking about testosterone and the fact that transgender (M to F) sportspeople have to take suppressants. But is that the only issue?? Surely there are strength benefits to having essentially a male skeleton and muscle density?

On the topic of golf though I don't feel it's an issue at amateur club level really. Since the game is based on a hell of a lot more than just strength. Obviously the bigger discussion points have been around purely strength-based endeavours such as the Olympic weightlifting, and things like boxing.