To take a sabbatical or not?

la_lucha

Tour Rookie
Visit site
So I’ve been playing Golf for around 3 years now.

I hit a nice ball, I putt reasonably well and I’m not too bad at chipping. BUT I’m terribly inconsistent. I can play 9 holes 2 over par and then play the next 9 14 over. I can birdie a hole and then triple the next three and I do so on a regular basis. What I can’t do is string together 18 holes. My current handicap is 19.2 with my lowest being 18.3.

I understand the technicalities of the swing and I know what I’ve done wrong generally. I just don’t have enough time to practice with an FT job and a young family.

I’m really thinking of knocking it on the head for a few years and coming back when the kids are a little older.

We’re talking what 5-10 years when I can take the little ones up for a game? I’m not getting out what I’m putting in at the moment and it’s purely because I can’t practice enough.

Has anyone here given up for a while and come back? Is it worthwhile stopping if you’re not enjoying it as much as you should be?

I’m at a real crossroads here and with subs due in the next month I feel I may benefit from some time away from the game.

CheltenhamHacker

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
So I’ve been playing Golf for around 3 years now.

I hit a nice ball, I putt reasonably well and I’m not too bad at chipping. BUT I’m terribly inconsistent. I can play 9 holes 2 over par and then play the next 9 14 over. I can birdie a hole and then triple the next three and I do so on a regular basis. What I can’t do is string together 18 holes. My current handicap is 19.2 with my lowest being 18.3.

I understand the technicalities of the swing and I know what I’ve done wrong generally. I just don’t have enough time to practice with an FT job and a young family.

I’m really thinking of knocking it on the head for a few years and coming back when the kids are a little older.