Tiger to be DQ'd?

Why wasn't Tiger DQ'd? he signed for an incorrect scorecard,you only incure stroke penalties during play, what the hecks happening with the PGA and the rules of golf? :confused:

But by that reckoning, if you only incur penalties during play, and during play, no penalty was called upon or incurred by Tiger, then he couldn't possibly have signed for an incorrect scorecard.
 
Don't need preach to me brother........hater's are just gonna hate :thup:

I think that the majority of those who'd like to see a DQ are not "Tiger haters", they just want to see the rules applied correctly, that's my position anyway.

Although he played the shot I don't lay any blame for the decision at Tiger's door, it's the committee that have got this so wrong.
 
I disagree if you did this in your medal and dropped it in the same place you would be operating within the rules. If they want to remove the grey area they should say they want it placed within 6 inches.
 
Right decision- best player and most exciting player in the world............

we ALL love golf and love to see the best player in the world......

but majority of posts want him disqualified for a mistake even though he's been penalised 2 shots....


sad day...........but not surprising :(
 
The game / tournament needs him, if I was in the field I wouldn't want him dq`d

Why is that exactly? The game seemed to survive perfectly well when he was off the radar for a while.
If I was in the field, (as if), I would want him DQ'd as I would expect to be DQ'd myself.
No-one should be bigger than their sport or above the rules, sadly this doesn't seem to be the case.

Slime.
 
Right decision- best player and most exciting player in the world............

we ALL love golf and love to see the best player in the world......

but majority of posts want him disqualified for a mistake even though he's been penalised 2 shots....


sad day...........but not surprising :(

The problem is he should have been dq'd

It gives the impression that ANGC have bent the rules to breaking point to keep him in.
That doesn't look good for ANGC and I don't think it'll look good for Tiger either.
 
If players are going to be tried by television then I think they should have some little flags in their bags so in this situation they can pop one in the ground where they played the shot from and if they decide to go back to play the shot from there then there is no argument as to the original ball position. It wouldn't take anything for a course marshal or official to recover it from the course if the player doesn't return to the previous position. I know it would ruin the fun for the jobsworths who sit checking these things on the tv but it would prevent any player having to take a penalty that none of us would have to take in the real world. If anyone on here can say they have played every shot from the exact same position when faced with a walk away and returning to play the shot again then you are a golfing god!
 
The camera's and coverage will now be all over Tiger to see if this has mentality affected him, all the way to the 18th!
 
The problem is he should have been dq'd

It gives the impression that ANGC have bent the rules to breaking point to keep him in.
That doesn't look good for ANGC and I don't think it'll look good for Tiger either.

Bang on 100%

It's not about liking or disliking Tiger it's about applying rules properly.

However, the deal is done and he is there for the weekend, lets enjoy what's left of the masters and hope the masters gets the winner it deserves
 
this decision STINKS,he broke the rules ,admitted in a press conference what he had done,then the MASTERS committee running scared used a rule that has no duristinction in this case to let him carry on,if it had been a lesser light or a european player they would have DQ'D them without fail,this just proves that THE MASTERS should not be a major and that once again it shows WOODS has no morals or integrity,and for all those that say he did nothing wrong and keep trying to justify what he did,would you cheat in a comp?
 
Greg Norman on Golf Channel says "its also about integrity and Tiger should have withdrawn himself".
 
If and it is still a big IF, should Woods go on and win now how much furore and argument will there be. I do feel a little of the magic of the Masters has been lost. It seems that the committe at Augusta really do feel they are bigger than the game. Wrong decision. I have loved watching Woods play close to his best for the first two rounds but an incorrect drop, signing a wrong score is DQ. End of
 
this decision STINKS,he broke the rules ,admitted in a press conference what he had done,then the MASTERS committee running scared used a rule that has no duristinction in this case to let him carry on,if it had been a lesser light or a european player they would have DQ'D them without fail,this just proves that THE MASTERS should not be a major and that once again it shows WOODS has no morals or integrity,and for all those that say he did nothing wrong and keep trying to justify what he did,would you cheat in a comp?

No ones cheated here, please read through the thread.
 
Top