Texas Scramble , designated drives ...Last hole ????

nyckuk

Newbie
Joined
Jun 28, 2017
Messages
177
Visit site
Most of our 4 man scrabbles you're are required to have 4 drives each.
Say my 4th drive is the last hole and i hit it out of bounds , So its 3 off the Tee . Do we all hit the 3rd off the tee or just me ???
I'm thinking we all do as ive hit my 4th drive albeit OB
 

Bratty

Princess Pouty (Queen of Fish Lips)
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
4,659
Visit site
Most of our 4 man scrabbles you're are required to have 4 drives each.
Say my 4th drive is the last hole and i hit it out of bounds , So its 3 off the Tee . Do we all hit the 3rd off the tee or just me ???
I'm thinking we all do as ive hit my 4th drive albeit OB
But then who's ball are you playing next shot?
I've always played 3 off the tee and then everyone plays 4th shot from my 'second' drive.
 

salfordlad

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
921
Visit site
Most of our 4 man scrabbles you're are required to have 4 drives each.
Say my 4th drive is the last hole and i hit it out of bounds , So its 3 off the Tee . Do we all hit the 3rd off the tee or just me ???
I'm thinking we all do as ive hit my 4th drive albeit OB
It will be the second talent stroke for the team, everyone plays, choose the one you want. This is the same as if all four initial drives go OOB.
 

nyckuk

Newbie
Joined
Jun 28, 2017
Messages
177
Visit site
If it's your drive that has to count, why are the others playing from the tee at all?
If I hit the 1st shot OB (my 4th required drive) , we are now playing the 3rd shot .
If I hit it into a lake we would all hit it the 3rd shot then
This why I’m thinking we all hit ??
 

Wabinez

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
3,477
Visit site
It would be a club ruling…but I would say it is still only you hitting 3 off the tee.

The only strategy I have on scrambles, is that by the last tee shot, everyone has had their allocation. It may mean a small disadvantage earlier in the round, but saves any pressure on the last hole if you have a score going
 

doublebogey7

Head Pro
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
1,893
Location
Leicester
Visit site
I would say it all players now take the third shot from the tee, but it as the RoG don't cover scrambles it would be down to the committee to decide. If you hit a tree with your first shot and the ball finished back in the teeing area, I think we would all agree that all are then playing the second shot from the tee.
 

rosecott

Money List Winner
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
7,715
Location
Notts
Visit site
If it's your drive that has to count, why are the others playing from the tee at all?

Exactly.

We sometimes play a Las Vegas Scramble where a throw of the dice dictates which drive is used.

Players are warned that, before the dice is thrown, any player whose ball might be lost or OOB should play a provisional in case the dice dictates that his drive is the one.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
15,201
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
In a scramble I would go with all 4 unless in your game the person who took the last shot cannot play the next* then the other 3

In a scrabble I would not know (I am a rubbish typist as well)

*That leads to the question- if the the person who played the last shot cannot play the next what will happen then for an OB ball?
 

Alan Clifford

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
1,100
Location
51.24545572099906, -0.5221967037089511
Visit site
Most of our 4 man scrabbles you're are required to have 4 drives each.
Say my 4th drive is the last hole and i hit it out of bounds , So its 3 off the Tee . Do we all hit the 3rd off the tee or just me ???
I'm thinking we all do as ive hit my 4th drive albeit OB
If you were playing the version where the player whose shot was taken for the first shot cannot play the second followed by where the player whose shot was taken for the second cannot play the third and so on, you could not play a third shot from the tee. So the others would have to play their third shots from the tee.

I'd apply the same logic to a texas scramble when you've gone out of bounds.
 

Swango1980

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
11,713
Location
Lincolnshire
Visit site
If you were playing the version where the player whose shot was taken for the first shot cannot play the second followed by where the player whose shot was taken for the second cannot play the third and so on, you could not play a third shot from the tee. So the others would have to play their third shots from the tee.

I'd apply the same logic to a texas scramble when you've gone out of bounds.
Florida Scramble, or at least that is what my club calls it
 

Swango1980

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
11,713
Location
Lincolnshire
Visit site
The answer should be clear in Texas Scramble. You all hit three off the tee, and play your 4th from the one of your choosing. The team is still using the players 4th drive on the 18th, hence why they are playing 3 off the tee and not 1 off the tee.

Same as if you find your ball in an unplayable position. The team could take a drop, and all of you play from that spot. Or you could take stroke and distance (back to the tee) and all play from there if you preferred.
 

KenL

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
6,887
Location
East Lothian
Visit site
Exactly.

We sometimes play a Las Vegas Scramble where a throw of the dice dictates which drive is used.

Players are warned that, before the dice is thrown, any player whose ball might be lost or OOB should play a provisional in case the dice dictates that his drive is the one.
That sounds a rubbish format!
 

PaulMdj

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2024
Messages
1,162
Visit site
That sounds a rubbish format!
It is great fun to be fair, we only have this format once a year, but it’s really popular.

Last year one of the guys put his tee shot in the hole on our Par 3 13th and when the dice was rolled someone else’s tee shot was chosen.😂😂
 
Top