juvenile572
New member
Hi,
I wonder if you can help me out with a situation that occurred at the weekend.
We played in a competition in groups of four comprising 2-man teams. One 2 man team didn't show up however, and the team they were due to play with were instructed to mark their own scorecard.
Obviously this shouldn't be allowed, but what rule of golf does it actually breach?
When members complained after the round about this, the committee has failed to budge, and has let the score stand.
Is there a rule where once a committee publishes a decision, that decision is final, even if its based on an incorrect application of the rules?
Or is the committee still able to reverse the decision and DQ the team who marked their own scorecard?
If the committee persistently refuses to budge, is there anyone else I can turn to? The R&A, England Golf...?
Thanks.
I wonder if you can help me out with a situation that occurred at the weekend.
We played in a competition in groups of four comprising 2-man teams. One 2 man team didn't show up however, and the team they were due to play with were instructed to mark their own scorecard.
Obviously this shouldn't be allowed, but what rule of golf does it actually breach?
When members complained after the round about this, the committee has failed to budge, and has let the score stand.
Is there a rule where once a committee publishes a decision, that decision is final, even if its based on an incorrect application of the rules?
Or is the committee still able to reverse the decision and DQ the team who marked their own scorecard?
If the committee persistently refuses to budge, is there anyone else I can turn to? The R&A, England Golf...?
Thanks.