slope and how its worked out and comp to SSS

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
i was under the impression slope was a guide to course difficulty.

my home course is par 71 SSS 74 with a slope of 137

Fish posted his course the other day which is shorter, par 73, SSS 72 and yet the slope is 139

am i missing something ?

NWJocko

Tour Winner
Visit site
Slope is only providing the relative difficulty of a course between a scratch golfer and a bogey golfer.

Course Rating is equivalent to SSS so a scratch golfer is expected to score 74 (or +3 to par) at Nairn and 72 (or -1 to par) at the other course.

I don't know the criteria but the difficulty of the course for a scratch and bogey golfer is ascertained which gives you the slope. I'm no expert on what these criteria are, could be that the other course has water about/carries off tees that a bogey golfer would find more difficult than at Nairn etc (that's only an example off the top of my head, sure they will be documented somewhere).

rulefan

Tour Winner
Visit site
As said Slope is simply an indication of the relative difficulty of a particular course (ie set of tees) for a bogey player (20 ish handicap) as opposed to a scratch player.

When a course (ie set of tees) is rated, two sets of measurements and positions of obstacles are taken into account.
The first are for a 'model' scratch player, which after calculations produces the Course Rating (almost equivalent to SSS). The second for a 'model' bogey player. The Bogey Rating.
Neither figure is related to par but simply indicates how many strokes that type of player is expected to take from those tees.
A theoretical line is drawn on a graph between the two ratings and this is the Slope.
A player will have a 'base' handicap index (derived from the average of the best 8 of the last 20 rounds) and will convert that to his Course Handicap by using the slope.

The first course is more difficult than the second for a scratch player. CR of 74 v CR of 72