Running Handicap Committees

NearHull

Visit site
I am expecting to Chair our Handicap Committee next year. I have been playing for over 25 years and have been a member at four clubs where I have been involved in various levels of organising groups/committees. However, until now, I have not been directly involved in Handicap management.
I have followed the WHS implementation keenly and have helped out with ratings. I have read the EG pages on Handicap Committees amongst others. I am starting off by rewriting the Competition T & Cs particularly wrt the impacts from WHS.
I would appreciate any advice from experienced members.

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
One of the hardest things I found with a committee of 5 members was finding a day and time to suit all.

It is not important that all members are au fait with the Rules of Handicapping so long as one or two are.

We aim for a spectrum of members - chair appointed by the captain's committee, one from men's seniors one from the ladies one from a younger grouping (hard to get had to settle on a 49 year old) and someone responsible for club admin.

Funny enough it was from rewriting the club handbook on all matters competition, course procedures and LRs that I ended up on the committee.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
From many years if posts on here it looks like the normal way of doing it is to run it like it’s your own little kingdom. You’re answerable to nobody and your word is law!

Go get ‘em champ

What are the laws on ivory to build that tower??

Thankless task and really appreciative of the time and effort people put in at clubs up and down the country. Hopefully a few helpers would ease the burden but be prepared to be sort out by members every time you step forth at the club

Visit site
Remind me please fellow forum members.....is it a requirement of WHS to have a handicap committee?
I ask, because we haven't had one for quite some years.