Rules in club comps

Diamond

Visit site
I am new to the sport and will join a club soon. When talking to friends they say that some people are like the mafia when it come to the rules of golf. They wait for you to tee off then loudly declare you were half an inch in front of the tee marker and penalise you for it.
This to me does not sound right. Surely even in a board comp you would say to a playing partner that they were teeing off a few inches further than the marker...or is golf really that cut throat.

On a similar theme do people get to play a board comp in a foursome with at least someone they know (a friend) or is it drawn randomly?

I ask because I can’t break 56 yet over 9 holes but I have set myself goals and intend to play comps, board comps and opens this year and I need to know what normal competitive competition will entail.

backwoodsman

Tour Winner
Visit site
There are some folk who will act the t**t during comps, and do things like you suggest. But most folk will do the right thing and give you the heads up if you are about to breach a rule.

As to groupings, that varies from club to club. Some will do random draws whilst others have "sign up" where you get to make up your own groups.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Haha, you're pretty unlucky if you end up playing with a tosser like that I'd say. Most people would do the decent thing and advise you of any rule breaks before the occur so you know. And don't be afraid to ask fellow members on any rules you're not sure of before you proceed with something, it's the only way to learn.

At my club most of the comps are play with your own groups and times, such as the monthly medals & Stablefords, but the bigger comps, ones that only take place once a year, they are more likely to be drawn groups and club times.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site