relief when ball lies close to a bunker

Yes I would in theory if the rough was cut back, pins were fairer and obstructions normally in play were not.

But of course you are not playing against pros.

Why does your club not permit relief from 'obstructions' ?
The course would have been rated for handicapping with the course set up as you play it (against other amateurs).
 
There have been occasions when I or others I have played with have looked for agreement from a fellow competitor and it was not granted.

One example is when I asked for relief from a sprinkler head. My playing partner argued that I should not get it as he thought that it was not on my line.

That wasn’t a ruling. Your fellow competitor is not a referee. You could proceed according to your own belief that you could take relief and it would be up to him if he wished to query your action with the Committee. Better to play one ball as it lies, play another ball having taken relief and report it to the Committee for a ruling. See Rule 3-3. That way you avoid on course arguments.
 
Better to play one ball as it lies, play another ball having taken relief and report it to the Committee for a ruling. See Rule 3-3. That way you avoid on course arguments.

Just out of curiosity, do you play the ball as it lies first, or the one you want to count first?

I'm thinking if it's the former you're getting a read on the line for the ball you want to count and wondered if that were allowed?
 
Just out of curiosity, do you play the ball as it lies first, or the one you want to count first?
Either.

The main requirement is that :

To proceed under this Rule, he must decide to play two balls after the doubtful situation has arisenand before taking further action (e.g. making a stroke at the original ball).

The competitor should announce to his marker or a fellow-competitor:

• that he intends to play two balls; and
• which ball he wishes to count if the Rules permit the procedure used for that ball.
 
Top