relief when ball lies close to a bunker

larsremvig

Newbie
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
4
Visit site
During the WGC at Shanghai Branden Grace was allowed to take relief as his ball was close to the edge of a bunker causing a difficult stance (right foot at a steep part of the bunker).
Which rule allows this relief?
Lars
 
Some weird PGA Pro comp local rule - as I can't imagine what it might be given your description of the scenario. Saying that something in back of my mind says that there can be relief in some circumstances where you can play a shot - but taking your stance or playing it could risk injury to yourself.
 
During the WGC at Shanghai Branden Grace was allowed to take relief as his ball was close to the edge of a bunker causing a difficult stance (right foot at a steep part of the bunker).
Which rule allows this relief?
Lars

Did he definitely get free relief?
 
During the WGC at Shanghai Branden Grace was allowed to take relief as his ball was close to the edge of a bunker causing a difficult stance (right foot at a steep part of the bunker).
Which rule allows this relief?
Lars

There is no Rule which provides free relief for a "difficult stance" (or to prevent injury). Rule 28 (unplayable ball) is always available to the player for such occasions.
 
During the WGC at Shanghai Branden Grace was allowed to take relief as his ball was close to the edge of a bunker causing a difficult stance (right foot at a steep part of the bunker).
Which rule allows this relief?
Lars

You must be mistaken, there is no reason for free relief purely as described.
 
Yes it is an immovable obstruction but I thought I saw that he was taking relief from casual water in the bunker. Maybe a different situation.
 
Last edited:
One of the commentators said he got relief because he was standing on the bunker liner. I thought the decision to give relief was bizarre.

Just like I do not agree with their preferred lies when it has rained or that they get up to a club length and not just 6 inches.
 
One of the commentators said he got relief because he was standing on the bunker liner. I thought the decision to give relief was bizarre.

Just like I do not agree with their preferred lies when it has rained or that they get up to a club length and not just 6 inches.

What exactly don't you agree with?
 
Both points on preferred lies.

For amateurs in competition play, we can only get preferred lies in the summer months If special permission is given by the local golf union. Then, it is six inches only.
 
Both points on preferred lies.

For amateurs in competition play, we can only get preferred lies in the summer months If special permission is given by the local golf union. Then, it is six inches only.

Well the first point is the same, ie only when necessary and when allowed.
And point 2 only differs in the distance which is done to make sure there's always somewhere to place and avoid any casual water.
 
Well the first point is the same, ie only when necessary and when allowed.
And point 2 only differs in the distance which is done to make sure there's always somewhere to place and avoid any casual water.
Casual water is casual water, so you get relief regardless of preferred lies being in place or not.
My understanding was that on the tour they automatically got a one club length relief and we do not. This one club length can make a substantial difference with regard to sloping stances etc.
 
Casual water is casual water, so you get relief regardless of preferred lies being in place or not.
My understanding was that on the tour they automatically got a one club length relief and we do not. This one club length can make a substantial difference with regard to sloping stances etc.
Thank you to all of you taking part in this discussion.
For your information:
The ball was lying outside the bunker, 2-3 inches from the border of the binker, and as far as I could see there was no lining. The player, Branden Grace, demonstrated several times his difficulties in taking a stance with his right foot, sliding down the steep part of the bunkerside. This was repeated when the official arrived.
So based on these facts and your comments, I suppose that the relief given only is obtainable being a professional.
Thank you and goodnight.
Lars.
 
Thank you to all of you taking part in this discussion.
For your information:
The ball was lying outside the bunker, 2-3 inches from the border of the binker, and as far as I could see there was no lining. The player, Branden Grace, demonstrated several times his difficulties in taking a stance with his right foot, sliding down the steep part of the bunkerside. This was repeated when the official arrived.
So based on these facts and your comments, I suppose that the relief given only is obtainable being a professional.
Thank you and goodnight.
Lars.

That was the incident I was referring to. His stance was in casual water.
 
Casual water is casual water, so you get relief regardless of preferred lies being in place or not.
My understanding was that on the tour they automatically got a one club length relief and we do not. This one club length can make a substantial difference with regard to sloping stances etc.

When we are playing preferred lies, we get a club length relief. The distance is defined by the local rule as set by the club.
 
When we are playing preferred lies, we get a club length relief. The distance is defined by the local rule as set by the club.

It's worth noting Woody that, whilst the local rule permits the club to define the amount of relief allowed, CONGU doesn't recognise anything over six inches for qualifying competitions. We fell foul of this one last year so have corrected for the current preferred lies period.

See Clause 15.3, page 26 of the current CONGU manual: http://www.englandgolf.org/e-brochure/index.html
 
It's worth noting Woody that, whilst the local rule permits the club to define the amount of relief allowed, CONGU doesn't recognise anything over six inches for qualifying competitions. We fell foul of this one last year so have corrected for the current preferred lies period.

See Clause 15.3, page 26 of the current CONGU manual: http://www.englandgolf.org/e-brochure/index.html

So a pro can win a million dollars moving the ball a club length with preferred lies, but a 20 handicap can't get cut in the monthly Stableford if more than 6 inches is allowed?

Ha ha, I love the irony of that rule :D
 
Top