Relief From Flooded Bunkers

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
2,059
Location
Dorset
Visit site
Sadly wehave a few of these at the moment and whilst I understand what happens when you can find your ball in a partially flooded bunker I'm not sure about when it's full to the brim re where to drop.

Had this scenario today.

Player hits his ball into a greenside bunker. We saw the splash so "know or virtually certain" it's in. However, the water is so deep we can't find the ball. Dropping in the bunker is not an option as there isn't anywhere so a penalty drop outside is the only option - but where do you drop?

We ended up agreeing that keeping the point of entry between the drop and the flag was the only option rather than the position of the ball as we didn't know where this was. Was this right?
 
The reference point you use is where the ball last crossed the margin of the casual water rather than where the ball is.
That was in fact probably the same as the point of entry into the bunker.

The rule is 25-1c(ii).

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-25,25-1

Ok thanks - I had assumed this was the case but as the water was in the bunker rather than just on the course I didn't know if you had to estimate where the ball was and go back on a straight line under penalty vs point of entry. quite a different drop in the circumstances.
 
When playing in the British Ladies Championship my daughter's opponent argued that she was entitled to a free drop.
Makes you wonder sometimes.

Was this the matchplay stage? Did your daughter agree? If the opponent took a free drop did your daughter make a claim? Wasn't there a referee with them?
 
Top