Relief out of GUR bunker

Another one of my pet issues. Too often, committees use shorthand or assume everybody knows what they mean when they say something like 'the bunker is GUR' or 'the bunker is out of play'. Such loose language leads to confusion or uncertainty as exemplified here.

The thoughtful and meticulous Committee would say somthing like 'the bunker, is ground under repair in the general area. It is not treated as a bunker during the round. The player may take free relief under Rule 16.1b'.
 
From the Definition of 'bunker':

When a bunker is being repaired and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker).

The obvious follow on here is that, if you choose to play your ball as it lies in the (non) bunker, you can now do a range of things you couldn't normally do, such as ground your club behind the ball, take practice swings that touch the sand, etc.
 
From the Definition of 'bunker':

When a bunker is being repaired and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker).

The obvious follow on here is that, if you choose to play your ball as it lies in the (non) bunker, you can now do a range of things you couldn't normally do, such as ground your club behind the ball, take practice swings that touch the sand, etc.
Not BIB I didn't know - thankyou.
 
From the Definition of 'bunker':

When a bunker is being repaired and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker).

The obvious follow on here is that, if you choose to play your ball as it lies in the (non) bunker, you can now do a range of things you couldn't normally do, such as ground your club behind the ball, take practice swings that touch the sand, etc.

I learn something new often. Thanks.
 
From the Definition of 'bunker':

When a bunker is being repaired and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker).

The obvious follow on here is that, if you choose to play your ball as it lies in the (non) bunker, you can now do a range of things you couldn't normally do, such as ground your club behind the ball, take practice swings that touch the sand, etc.
I assume the caveat to this is you can do it unless the Committee also states that relief must be taken.
 
Top