Relief from a bunker marked as GUR.

justagolfer

Blackballed
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
71
Visit site
A player takes relief from a bunker ( filled with water ) to a position “ outside the bunker “… Note however that the bunker contains a GUR sign. My question. Does rule 25-1 Para..b relief ..Sub para (ii ) b .. still apply "or" does the player get free relief “no penalty”?
Looking forward to your replies....... Note - The GUR sign said nothing about play outside the GUR being compulsory. Nor were there any notices to this effect in the clubhouse.
 
It depends if the entire bunker is designated as GUR.

If the bunker simply has a GUR sign in it I would assume that it indicates that the entire bunker is GUR. If only part of the bunker is GUR I would expect the relevant area to be marked in some way.

The Committee can do this either because it is completely flooded or if is is undergoing renovation.

If the entire bunker is designated GUR then Decision 25/13 Bunker Totally Under Repair indicates that the bunker "loses its status as a hazard and is automatically classified as “through the green”. Therefore, unless a Committee specifically states otherwise, Rule 25-1b(i) applies, not Rule 25-1b(ii)".

Decision 33-8/27 Local Rule Providing Relief Without Penalty from Bunker Filled with Casual Water indicates that the Committe can make a local rule designating specific bunkers that are flooded as GUR, in which case relief can be taken without penalty in accordance with Rule 25-1b(i).

As to whether play from an area of GUR is allowed or not, whilst Rule 25-1(b) provides that a player may take relief, the Rules also provide for a local rule to be made prohibiting play from GUR in order to protect the course (Appendix 1B 2a). The latter is quite common. Worth checking on the card.
 
It depends if the entire bunker is designated as GUR.

If the bunker simply has a GUR sign in it I would assume that it indicates that the entire bunker is GUR. If only part of the bunker is GUR I would expect the relevant area to be marked in some way.

You know, I didn't really think twice about this assumption yesterday, knowing MashieNiblick was quite right to make it. But how do I know that when I can't find any statement to that effect so that I can reference it? . I'm falling back on the rationale that because GUR is a defined area, if you find a bunker with a sign in it, the only area that is defined without white lines or whatever is the bunker itself, the GUR being defined by its margins. That's good enough for me but have I missed something, do you think?
 
You know, I didn't really think twice about this assumption yesterday, knowing MashieNiblick was quite right to make it. But how do I know that when I can't find any statement to that effect so that I can reference it? . I'm falling back on the rationale that because GUR is a defined area, if you find a bunker with a sign in it, the only area that is defined without white lines or whatever is the bunker itself, the GUR being defined by its margins. That's good enough for me but have I missed something, do you think?

For club play I also think that interpretation is fine; I would expect a TD to clarify the situation for an event.
 
We have had quite a few GUR bunkers at my club during course changes and improvements. They have all been marked with a white line as well the sign so there is no doubt - but you wouldn't want to white line a bunker that was GUR for only a day or two.
 
We have had quite a few GUR bunkers at my club during course changes and improvements. They have all been marked with a white line as well the sign so there is no doubt - but you wouldn't want to white line a bunker that was GUR for only a day or two.

We also have a few GUR bunkers due to weather conditions and re-modelling. The nearest point of relief rule is dispensed with as a drop zone is provided, usually with the bunker between the DZ and pin especially for those of a nervous disposition!
 
Top