Poor driver

Lollfred

Head Pro
Visit site
Hello all .... this has probably been covered elsewhere, so appolgies for that.

I am a poor driver, very inconsistent, and mostly a slicer off the tee (with driver), can any of you offer any advice as to correct set up, and possibly put the swing into simple, easy stages that i can follow.

I am ok with my irons, but for some reason struggle hugely with the driver.

Thanks
Loll

A

Alex1975

i would think your not using your right hand/arm enough. goto the range and really make an efort to push your right hand through (if your right handed ofc)

i used to have this and its just being lazy because you have the big dog in your hand, get that right hand through at inpact.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Hello all .... this has probably been covered elsewhere, so appolgies for that.

I am a poor driver, very inconsistent, and mostly a slicer off the tee (with driver), can any of you offer any advice as to correct set up, and possibly put the swing into simple, easy stages that i can follow.

Thanks
Loll

Hi Loll and welcome to the forum.
Do you have a video of your swing you can put on youtube and post a link here?

sawtooth

Tour Winner
Visit site
I would say the opposite is true. For right handed players, if your right hand/arm has too much say in the swing it will destroy swing plane.

The free swing of the left arm is what creates the swing arc. People that slice tend to start their downswing with a turn of the shoulders and have a dominant right arm that throws the club out of line. This causes an over the top out-to-in swing path.

I used to slice the ball very badly. Something to help you build up your left side control is to practice swinging one handed (left arm only for right handed players).

A

Alex1975