playing the wrong ball

rapper

Assistant Pro
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
240
Visit site
Ive just finished play a club comp stroke play,my competor play his ball into the rough,went to look for it found it andplayed it out of the rough.Then played onto the green for 3,to declare he has played the wrong ball twice,then conceeded the match for playing the wrong ball,he plays of 13 me 20 and the match was even and this happened on the 8th hole ,what is the correct ruling for this?
 
Ive just finished play a club comp stroke play,my competor play his ball into the rough,went to look for it found it andplayed it out of the rough.Then played onto the green for 3,to declare he has played the wrong ball twice,then conceeded the match for playing the wrong ball,he plays of 13 me 20 and the match was even and this happened on the 8th hole ,what is the correct ruling for this?

Stroke play................concede the match. I take it it was mach play and in that case he can concede the hole that is being played, not the match, or you dont know the rules. In saying that, in match play you can concede the match...full stop.
 
This is the rule - I cannot understand what type of comp you were playing in

15-3. Wrong Ball


a. Match Play
If a player makes a stroke at a wrong ball, he loses the hole.
If the wrong ball belongs to another player, its owner must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played. If the player and opponent exchange balls during the play of a hole, the first to make a stroke at a wrong ball loses the hole; when this cannot be determined, the hole must be played out with the balls exchanged.

Exception: There is no penalty if a player makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is moving in water in a water hazard. Any strokes made at a wrong ball moving in water in a water hazard do not count in the player's score. The player must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules.


b. Stroke Play
If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.
The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules. If he fails to correct his mistake before making a stroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, fails to declare his intention to correct his mistake before leaving the putting green, he is disqualified
 
we where playing stroke play and not match play,he hit his ball in the rough ,then played a provisional ball.found what he though was his played it twice and conceeded the match.
in the rules you posted how can you put it right if you played the wrong ball?
 
I have the same question, but in Stableford game. The Guy played the wrong ball, claimed he could not see if it was his ball or not, then proceeded to play his ball, with no penalty.

Was that right??

I may be wrong but if he played the wrong ball then its a 2 shot penalty and he would have to 'blob' the hole. Claiming he could not tell if it was his ball is no excuse , you are allowed to mark, lift and inspect the ball in order to identify it (no cleaning allowed though) without penalty.

someone will correct me if i'm wrong but thats the way I see it.
 
I have the same question, but in Stableford game. The Guy played the wrong ball, claimed he could not see if it was his ball or not, then proceeded to play his ball, with no penalty.

Was that right??

I may be wrong but if he played the wrong ball then its a 2 shot penalty and he would have to 'blob' the hole. Claiming he could not tell if it was his ball is no excuse , you are allowed to mark, lift and inspect the ball in order to identify it (no cleaning allowed though) without penalty.

someone will correct me if i'm wrong but thats the way I see it.

Correct about the two shot penalty if the wrong ball was played. But... would have to then play the correct ball. Don't have to blob the hole - it might still be possible to score a point or two but a two shot penalty means it's less likely
 
I have the same question, but in Stableford game. The Guy played the wrong ball, claimed he could not see if it was his ball or not, then proceeded to play his ball, with no penalty.

Was that right??

I may be wrong but if he played the wrong ball then its a 2 shot penalty and he would have to 'blob' the hole. Claiming he could not tell if it was his ball is no excuse , you are allowed to mark, lift and inspect the ball in order to identify it (no cleaning allowed though) without penalty.

someone will correct me if i'm wrong but thats the way I see it.

Correct about the two shot penalty if the wrong ball was played. But... would have to then play the correct ball. Don't have to blob the hole - it might still be possible to score a point or two but a two shot penalty means it's less likely

Appreciated, I will know for next time ;)
 
The amount of times I read on this forum about playing the wrong ball. Guys, ID all your balls with your own individual markings. A small face, put a zero after the 2 or 3 and turn your ball into a 20 or 30, a couple of small crosses, a couple of eye’s. Whatever, just make sure your ball is totally unique to you and that no one else can identify with yours.

Lots of golfers these days are putting a couple of dots on theirs, so try and mark yours in some special way and I’ll guarantee it will make life easy.
 
I'm pretty sure that all forms of golf except matchplay use strokeplay rules when it comes to penalties.

and then in matchplay most come down to, 'break a rule - lose the hole'
 
Back to the OP so the guy just NR'd he could have done the following

Strokeplay the guy would have to go back to the rough and see if he could find his original ball if he did he could, play it with a two shot penalty added, If he could not find it he would (and this is where it gets a bit messy) have to go back to the place he played his original shot and play again with the shot and distance penalty plus the two shots for hitting the wrong ball (I think) - so if it was his tee shot into the rough he would then be playing his fifth from the tee.
 
Top