Player teed off before rest of group had completed previous hole

Peterfuse

New member
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
2
Visit site
In our stableford comp today a member of our fourball knew he would ding the 10th so walked on by himself to the 11th tee.

Since the 11th was clear, he teed off whilst the rest of us were still putting on the 10th green.

Does anyone know if there’s a rule against this? I thought at a minimum it’s very bad etiquette to not wait for us.

Cheers
 
In our stableford comp today a member of our fourball knew he would ding the 10th so walked on by himself to the 11th tee.

Since the 11th was clear, he teed off whilst the rest of us were still putting on the 10th green.

Does anyone know if there’s a rule against this? I thought at a minimum it’s very bad etiquette to not wait for us.

Cheers

I assume he was he marking/verifying one of the other player' scores. How did he manage to do that?
 
What in 3.3b suggests more than asking the player his score for the hole and recording it on the scorecard?

The post to which I was responding stated " the marker has no responsibilities regarding the players score". 3-3b starts with the words "marker's responsibility".
 
Ready golf probably just about makes it legal.
But it’s bad etiquette imo.
He is supposed to witness the scores on the card.
I remember a pro on USPGA couple of years ago do just this ,his fellow pro was so slow he lost it.
 
I though there was. Previously 6.3, it's now
5.4b Stroke Play
During a round, the player must remain in the group set by the Committee, unless the Committee approves a change either before or after it happens.
Penalty DQ

From a rules point of view do you think the actions described in the OP constitute the player not remaining in the group set by the committee?

(I can only imagine it requires a player forming a group on his own or joining another group, but not sure the player did either. I guess its perfectly possible for a player to putt out while someone else in the group is not even on the green yet, or even back on the tee reloading, so one player being a shot or two ahead of another person in the group clearly isn't 'not remaining in the group')


edit: like most I guess if I blob I try to make sure I go onto the green with the rest of the group just to tend flag etc and remain physically where I would’ve been if I was still in the hole
 
I though there was. Previously 6.3, it's now
5.4b Stroke Play
During a round, the player must remain in the group set by the Committee, unless the Committee approves a change either before or after it happens.
Penalty DQ
I was aware of 5.4b - but do you think it's really applicable? Would teeing off on a hole whilst remainder of group are still finishing previous hole - but then playing down that hole as a group again - really count as a breach of the "stay in same group" requirement ? (Genuine question - am somewhat unsure myself).

Edit. How come Slab's reply wasnt visible to me when I typed mine.? Sorry for the duplication ...
 
Last edited:
I don't see 5.4b as applicable as the player has not changed his group, just distanced himself from it temporarily as I do if I disappear into the trees for a pee mid-round. It seems relevant to remind ourselves that when a group is on the 17th determined to finish a round before the hooter goes for failing light, one player holes out and dashes off to start the 18th while the others finish putting out.
 
The bloke was obviously not a team player. Very poor not to wait for other to get to the tee before driving off.

Right, time for breakfast.
 
I don't see 5.4b as applicable as the player has not changed his group, just distanced himself from it temporarily as I do if I disappear into the trees for a pee mid-round. It seems relevant to remind ourselves that when a group is on the 17th determined to finish a round before the hooter goes for failing light, one player holes out and dashes off to start the 18th while the others finish putting out.
I'm not really convinced either way. The Rule starts by saying 'he must remain in his group'. That suggests that he cannot leave the group to play on his own. Making strokes on a different hole to his 'group' sounds like playing on his own.
It is only the second clause that introduces the concept of joining anther group. In effect the committee could be permitting changes of markers. However, the wording does not permit a sole player because his score cannot be 'marked'. And that I believe is the crux.
 
Was it Poulter who did this on the PGA tour as light worsened on the 18th to avoid coming back the next day? But he did it with his PP’s allowance.
 
Was it Poulter who did this on the PGA tour as light worsened on the 18th to avoid coming back the next day? But he did it with his PP’s allowance.
Yeah at swagrass.

He ran from the 17th tee onwards. Was another top, can't recall his name. Was so out of breath he duck hooked it straight left!
 
Top