Mental Game - Other women golfers drive me mad! How can I cope with it?

jennifermcm

Hacker
Visit site
Hi,

As a lady golfer it pains me to say that everything that men say about lady golfers is true - they're too slow, talk too much, stop on the fairway for a little chat and to admire another lady's new golf bag...and it is driving me absolutely nuts!!

My club is only recently affiliated with the Irish Ladies Golfing Union, so ouir lady membership is quite small. I've been playing at the club for a few years though, and in the absence of other ladies to play with, I played with the guys. My ex-partner was also a pro-caddy, so I learned early on to play fast, hit long and not talk when someone was taking their shot. Basic good golfing manners in other words.

Yesterday I had my first game this year with the ladies. Our fourball took 3 hours to play 9 holes. Most of that time I spent standing around staring at the grass, trying not to lose my temper. They talked absolute nonsense, peppered with words like "lovie" or "dearie" for the whole game.

My own play, which has been really good lately, descended to topped and heavy shots as my mental state broke down. As my own game deteriorated to their level, one of them kept saying on every bad shot I hit "not to worry, lovie!"

The kind of golfer I am is one who wishes to play her best, to reach her potential, and to put in the hours of trianing and practice that that requires. I work damned hard at my game. My only barrier to a low handicap isn't physical or technical, it's purely mental, and most of that has to do with playing with annoying women of a certain so-called mature age!

So my question is : how can I keep my game together under really trying circumstances, with people who make me so mad that I just want to strangle them and run off the course screaming????

(Sorry for the rant!)

Thanks for any advice in advance!

Jennifer

jennifermcm

Hacker
Visit site
Ya smiffy, it should be interesting!