Longer Par 3’s / Club choice

AdamC28

Visit site
Hi all,

As a little background I am pretty new to the game of golf, only starting last summer.
Average round for me is in the mid 90’s but feel I am improving all the time.

I am now driving the ball pretty consistently and happy with my ball striking with lower (7) iron down and wedges.

My local course has 2 longish par 3’s at roughly 180 yards each off the yellows.
I am really struggling with these 2 holes and I’m looking at a potential new purchase to use off the tee on these holes and from the fairway on longer par 4’s.

If you have or have had this issue before and struggle to pure your 5 iron what do you use?
Thinking hybrid, GAPR, etc?

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
I don't really hit my 5 iron unless I really have to. If there's no danger at the front of the green I might hit 6 iron and just say if it's short it's short, try and get up and down for par. Or if it's on the longer side and you'd rather be at the back of the green then I could hit a kind of soft hybrid - but a full swing with that is probably too much. I also have an old graphite-shafted 3 iron which would be an option (haven't been using this much in the winter though).

It's probably worth you having a hybrid in the bag if you struggle with long irons. I used to really struggle with hybrids as well, but I'm finally making some decent progress since I got the G25.

bluewolf

Money List Winner
Visit site
A hybrid is your obvious choice there. Quite a lot of people carry 6-PW sets now and then hybrids to fill the gaps at the lower end of the bag. And it's not just high handicappers either. Garyinderry above is a cracking golfer and he loves a good hybrid. He's the forum KJ Choi.

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
That is Hybrid/rescue length for me these days.

In my 20s it would have 7 iron

No one can really advise you without knowing how far you hit each club.

Robin Hood

Visit site