Lessons...a complete waste of money?

leaney

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I believe the vast majority of pros out there are just lazy money grabbing con artists and I'll be happy to explain why.
There are hundreds of different swings on tour but pros tend to only teach and base their principles around one golf swing, at least in my experience anyway.

The PGA pros I have used since I started playing golf almost 2 years ago, had always tried to teach me in a 'Luke Donald' way. And by this I mean, they would always show me videos of how Luke Donald hits his shots, his posture, his impact position etc etc.

But...I'm not Luke Donald. I'm built completely differently for starters. I'm much stronger and bigger built than he is but I'm also less flexible. So why on earth would anyone try and get me to replicate what he does?

4 months ago, I stopped having lessons with the one trick ponies. Instead I decided to start from scratch because the 'Luke Donald way' wasn't working for me, in fact I was useless!

After months and months of hard practice, as well as watching countless Youtube videos, I'm now able to hit the ball well and consistently. And the biggest difference to my game? Having a flat (slightly bowed) wrist at impact. An obvious thing to have in your swing I hear you all cry. But I was never told this in my lessons and it never dawned on me until I saw a few Youtube clips that detailed this.

There are many different ways to create a successful golf swing, why teach someone only one swing when it might not be suited to them? For example, I've found 3 common ways to cock the wrists, one of which works very well for me (whilst it wouldn't for others).

So here's my question for those who have lessons. Does your pro try and teach you in one dimensional manner? Or do they realise that every one has their own swing.

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site