Is the cost of joining a club worth it?

Grizzly

Visit site
I started playing golf again last year after a twenty year hiatus; I enjoyed the game when I was young, but for various reasons never picked it up again after University. Then I agreed to take part in a charity day with some mates, and it sort of escalated from there. I'm not great at it - the mobile phone app that I use tells me I'm now down to a 26 handicap, which made me feel much happier than it really ought to - but I reckon I can improve. My problem is, I don't know if I'm deluded in that belief, and at present my circle of golfing acquaintances and working shifts limits me to a couple of rounds a month. Is joining a club, even with the hefty fees, the way forward?

virtuocity

Tour Winner
Visit site
Only you can justify the cost. A membership is expensive if you’re only playing a couple of rounds per month.

I like competitions and occasionally playing with the handicap team. Knowing I have a guaranteed game on a Saturday morning and somewhere to occasionally play during the week makes it worth it for me. No way would I pay out if I was only going to play 30 times a year though.

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
Welcome!

I guess the defining factor may be the cost. Down here in the deep south east an annual membership, if there's no discount, is well over £1k so 24 rounds would be pretty expensive per game but other areas in the UK can be very reasonable. The chances are though, if you join a club you may, if circumstances allow, be able to get out more often as well as meet a wider range of potential playing mates

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Marginal for me, but the attraction of 'belonging' somewhere - and the other benefits - meant the I have joined a club - which I am a fan of in any case - again.

However, happy to 'forego' the 'free' round occasionally and play elsewhere, purely for a bit of variety!

robinthehood

Hacker
Visit site