palindromicbob
Tour Winner
As I understand it, YES. Once you have played 3 off the tee then that is the ball in play - even if you find the original ball, in play or not.
As I understand it, NO, No, No.... If you are VC that the ball is in the water hazard and playing another off the tee, then you are playing 3 off the tee, not a provisional. You can't play a provisional just in case you can't find the original that may/may not be in a water hazard because if you are not VC that it is in and can't find it, then it isn't in and is lost.
If I'm wrong then I accept the incoming flak. If I'm right then someone far more erudite than me will explain the rule in easy to assimulate way.
Why is rule 27-2 seemingly so hard to grasp.
If you hit a ball toward a hazard and it may be lost outside the hazard then you may announce your intention to play a provisional. If you get to the area and fail to find the ball and there is no information to indicate that the ball is in the hazard then the ball is considered to have been lost outside the hazard and you can continue play with the provisional.
If information becomes available that indicates the ball is lost in the hazard (such as someone in another group telling you they saw it go in the water) then you can take options available under rule 26-1 and the provisional must be abandoned unless a local rule is in place to prevent you taking the options for relief under rule 26-1.
See decision 26-1/1 which clarifies the meaning of known or virtually certain.