Incorrectly Playing off Lower Handicap

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 16999
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 16999

Guest
Yesterday a bloke in our four-ball, playing off 16 went round in gross 84, Nett 68 (Par 70), upon entering his scorecard into computer the computer showed him off 17 and his Nett Score of 67, he changed his handicap at the top of his scorecard but not the nett figure at the bottom, this stayed at 68.

When the results were done it came out he'd won on countback, however, when they checked his card they have now said as he signed for a 68 that stands and he is dropped to runner up.

I thought the player was responsible for only each score on each hole and not gross or nett score.

Are they right to drop him to 2nd or should his card stand and be reinstated to winner.
 
The player is required to put in his correct handicap and the gross score at each hole. He should not be disqualified because the total is wrong.

See Rule 6-6d Note 1.
 
The player is required to put in his correct handicap and the gross score at each hole. He should not be disqualified because the total is wrong.

See Rule 6-6d Note 1.

He wasn't disqualified, he was dropped to runner up.
 
Yesterday a bloke in our four-ball, playing off 16 went round in gross 84, Nett 68 (Par 70), upon entering his scorecard into computer the computer showed him off 17 and his Nett Score of 67, he changed his handicap at the top of his scorecard but not the nett figure at the bottom, this stayed at 68.

When the results were done it came out he'd won on countback, however, when they checked his card they have now said as he signed for a 68 that stands and he is dropped to runner up.

I thought the player was responsible for only each score on each hole and not gross or nett score.

Are they right to drop him to 2nd or should his card stand and be reinstated to winner.
He is only responsible for

Name
handicap on card
gross scores
signatures

no he shouldn't have dropped to 2nd, your committee got it wrong.
 
No difference, really. It shouldn't have happened. The Note I referred to specifically states that the committee is responsible for adding up and applying the handicap which is on the card.
I did read the note and a mate has also emailed me the following Note: Decision 6-6d/2 Total Score Recorded by Competitor Incorrect.
 
This has always been an issue with me since the introduction of PSI. After the card has been signed by the marker and confirmed by the player's signature, what happens if the player, when entering the score into the computer, decides to change something on the card - handicap, score on a hole, whatever.
 
My Question is - When did he sign his card? As if he signed his card when it said 16 - the 68 stands.

Without that question though.
The committee has got it wrong - a player isn't responsible for deducting his handicap - if his gross total is correct - no issues.
 
My Question is - When did he sign his card? As if he signed his card when it said 16 - the 68 stands.

Without that question though.
The committee has got it wrong - a player isn't responsible for deducting his handicap - if his gross total is correct - no issues.

I'm afraid you are a bit confused. You can correct a mistake in entering a score on your card after it has been signed by you and your marker, but before it has been returned. You must, as I said above, do so with your marker's knowledge and agreement or, if he is unavailable, with the Committee. As far as changing an incorrect handicap is concerned, I see no reason why you couldn't just change it on your own. Your marker is not verifying your handicap, just your gross score at each hole.

As has been said, there is no requirement on the player to enter a total. It doesn't matter if he does and gets his sums wrong. There is no penalty of any kind.
 
I'm afraid you are a bit confused. You can correct a mistake in entering a score on your card after it has been signed by you and your marker, but before it has been returned. You must, as I said above, do so with your marker's knowledge and agreement or, if he is unavailable, with the Committee. As far as changing an incorrect handicap is concerned, I see no reason why you couldn't just change it on your own. Your marker is not verifying your handicap, just your gross score at each hole.

As has been said, there is no requirement on the player to enter a total. It doesn't matter if he does and gets his sums wrong. There is no penalty of any kind.
I was the marker and we both initialled the change to handicap before card was put in the box.

I believe there is still the misconception out there that once the card is signed by marker and player, the information on it is set in stone.
 
I prefer it if the marker doesn't add up the gross too. it's surprising how often they get it wrong and as we all know there's no need for it.
 
Top