Not playing the second day of a two-day tournament... (WHS question)

apj0524

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
633
Location
Somerset
Visit site
From the Rules of Handicapping Guidance document:
View attachment 53848
I can that its in Black & White but it really surprises me, if you enter a multi round competition I would have thought you have registered an intent to play two rounds, so to not play the second round " For what ever reason " and not be hit with a penalty score seems to fly in the face of the stance EG have with Non Return of a score card for a single round competition. live an learn. Personally had on see this rule I would have applied a penalty score of the the course rating plus players course handicap
 

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,986
Visit site
I can that its in Black & White but it really surprises me, if you enter a multi round competition I would have thought you have registered an intent to play two rounds, so to not play the second round " For what ever reason " and not be hit with a penalty score seems to fly in the face of the stance EG have with Non Return of a score card for a single round competition. live an learn. Personally had on see this rule I would have applied a penalty score of the the course rating plus players course handicap
Those "applying penalties" should know the Rules! :sleep:
 

wjemather

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2020
Messages
3,442
Location
Bristol
Visit site
I can that its in Black & White but it really surprises me, if you enter a multi round competition I would have thought you have registered an intent to play two rounds, so to not play the second round " For what ever reason " and not be hit with a penalty score seems to fly in the face of the stance EG have with Non Return of a score card for a single round competition. live an learn. Personally had on see this rule I would have applied a penalty score of the the course rating plus players course handicap
See also G2.1a(2), with regards to entry not constituting pre-registration for any competition, and what should happen if a player pre-registers but withdraws prior to starting their round:

1718892519533.png

Unfortunately, those running comps often do not give any thought to handicapping implications and so there are lots of 18NDB scores wrongly being sent to WHS (even by counties!).
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
26,428
Location
Watford
Visit site
I can that its in Black & White but it really surprises me, if you enter a multi round competition I would have thought you have registered an intent to play two rounds, so to not play the second round " For what ever reason " and not be hit with a penalty score seems to fly in the face of the stance EG have with Non Return of a score card for a single round competition. live an learn. Personally had on see this rule I would have applied a penalty score of the the course rating plus players course handicap
If that was the case though, I'd expect my mate to be warned of that when asked if he's playing the second day. "Be aware that you have already registered intent to play so it will be entered as an NR." Needless to say, that didn't happen though. It was just "are you playing tomorrow?" leaving it seemingly upon for him to say yes or no without consequence.
 

Swango1980

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
11,805
Location
Lincolnshire
Visit site
For a score to be acceptable for handicapping, even after pre-registration, a minimum of 10 holes must be played for an 18 hole round.

The fact he played zero holes in an 18 hole round makes it pretty clear that this round should not be on his handicap record.
 

D-S

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
3,399
Location
Bristol
Visit site
For a score to be acceptable for handicapping, even after pre-registration, a minimum of 10 holes must be played for an 18 hole round.

The fact he played zero holes in an 18 hole round makes it pretty clear that this round should not be on his handicap record.
I would assume that it was not a ‘round’ that was put on his record, rather a penalty score.
 

Swango1980

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
11,805
Location
Lincolnshire
Visit site
I would assume that it was not a ‘round’ that was put on his record, rather a penalty score.
A penalty score is acceptable for handicap, hence why it appears on a players record. A penalty score will be required when a player plays, but does not return their score for whatever reason. Then the Committee need to decide the most appropriate penalty score to give.

It isn't to be used when a player does not play at all. Just imagine the controversy when a penalty score is entered on a players record for not playing, they lose a Top 8 score and they get a handicap increase for their next round
 

D-S

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
3,399
Location
Bristol
Visit site
A penalty score is acceptable for handicap, hence why it appears on a players record. A penalty score will be required when a player plays, but does not return their score for whatever reason. Then the Committee need to decide the most appropriate penalty score to give.

It isn't to be used when a player does not play at all. Just imagine the controversy when a penalty score is entered on a players record for not playing, they lose a Top 8 score and they get a handicap increase for their next round
I was not agreeing with the committee's actions, I was merely pointing out that it probably was not a 'round' entered but a penalty score.

"The fact he played zero holes in an 18 hole round makes it pretty clear that this round should not be on his handicap record."
 

IanMcC

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
942
Visit site
If you pre register on the app for a round, then don't play it, then a Penalty Score is auto generated after 5 days.
I don't see a great deal of difference here, but I know the Rules of Handicapping say otherwise. I think it is a major inconsistency.
 

Swango1980

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
11,805
Location
Lincolnshire
Visit site
If you pre register on the app for a round, then don't play it, then a Penalty Score is auto generated after 5 days.
I don't see a great deal of difference here, but I know the Rules of Handicapping say otherwise. I think it is a major inconsistency.
I think that is an issue with the app, as it seems to be making an assumption the round was played and not submitted.

Potentially a reasonable assumption given the player needs to be near the course to pre reg
 

4LEX

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
1,909
Visit site
That happened to me after the Club Championship in 2022. I played really well in the first round but had a load of lip outs and some silly dropped shots. Shot a 77 I think and I was only 4 off the lead but my shoulder was in agony, so I withdrew. A few days later my handicap had gone up accordingly!
 
Top