Not playing the second day of a two-day tournament... (WHS question)

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
26,428
Location
Watford
Visit site
Our club championships is over two days. After the first round they ask everyone to confirm if they're coming back for the following day. My mate NRed on the Saturday so informed them he wouldn't be playing on the Sunday.

I just glanced at his handicap record in England Golf, and his Saturday card is there as it should be, however for Sunday they've entered another card for him with effectively 18 blobs for a score differential of 58. Is that correct?? Seems odd given that he stated that he wasn't playing. I thought this would only happen if you did play but failed to enter your score or return a card?
 

PaulMdj

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2024
Messages
1,255
Visit site
Our club championships is over two days. After the first round they ask everyone to confirm if they're coming back for the following day. My mate NRed on the Saturday so informed them he wouldn't be playing on the Sunday.

I just glanced at his handicap record in England Golf, and his Saturday card is there as it should be, however for Sunday they've entered another card for him with effectively 18 blobs for a score differential of 58. Is that correct?? Seems odd given that he stated that he wasn't playing. I thought this would only happen if you did play but failed to enter your score or return a card?
Do you pay for your Club Champs, if you do, do you have to pay for both days upfront?

The reason I ask is, at our place you have to pay for both days upfront, if you drop out and tell them, you don’t get a refund and you would get another card for the sunday.

The only reason they want to know if people are playing or not is to organise the tee times better for the 2nd day.

Harsh, I agree, but it is in the terms of comp.
 

LIG

Q-School Graduate
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
984
Location
Middlesex
Visit site
Someone at the club has foozled and not done their job properly. If there was no score acceptable for handicapping then there shouldn't be anything on his EG record.
The club will need to reopen the Comp to correct it then refinalise it.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
15,244
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
Depends on what you mean by 'blobs'. From what you are saying it has gone in is 18 NRs

They should have recorded it as 18 x NS (hole not started) and not 18 x NR (hole started but not finished)

It would then automatically not affect their WHS record.
 

PaulMdj

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2024
Messages
1,255
Visit site
Here’s a screenshot off a mate who was off 1.7 at the time playing a 36 hole comp, bad first round, withdrew for 2nd.
This appeared on his EG record for the 2nd round.🤷‍♂️
IMG_6455.jpeg
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
26,428
Location
Watford
Visit site
Do you pay for your Club Champs, if you do, do you have to pay for both days upfront?

The reason I ask is, at our place you have to pay for both days upfront, if you drop out and tell them, you don’t get a refund and you would get another card for the sunday.

The only reason they want to know if people are playing or not is to organise the tee times better for the 2nd day.

Harsh, I agree, but it is in the terms of comp.
Yeah it's one fee at the beginning. I'm sure I NRed last year or the year before and didn't get a second card added though. Maybe they've changed how they do it. Seems crazy to get a complete card of blobs added when you don't even tee it up.
 

PaulMdj

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2024
Messages
1,255
Visit site
Yeah it's one fee at the beginning. I'm sure I NRed last year or the year before and didn't get a second card added though. Maybe they've changed how they do it. Seems crazy to get a complete card of blobs added when you don't even tee it up.
Especially when you look at the record I posted, that score will never appear in his best 8 or affect his handicap. Waste of time.
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
26,428
Location
Watford
Visit site
Depends on what you mean by 'blobs'. From what you are saying it has gone in is 18 NRs

They should have recorded it as 18 x NS (hole not started) and not 18 x NR (hole started but not finished)

It would then automatically not affect their WHS record.
I've attached two screenshots of how it's been entered.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20240619_184351.jpg
    Screenshot_20240619_184351.jpg
    70.2 KB · Views: 11
  • Screenshot_20240619_184401.jpg
    Screenshot_20240619_184401.jpg
    239.1 KB · Views: 11

woofers

Medal Winner
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
952
Visit site
Depends on what you mean by 'blobs'. From what you are saying it has gone in is 18 NRs

They should have recorded it as 18 x NS (hole not started) and not 18 x NR (hole started but not finished)

It would then automatically not affect their WHS record.
This at best.
Since he had no intention of submitting a score for handicap purposes I would suggest he doesn’t comply with the requirements of the Rules of Handicapping and the result should be removed from his record.
 

woofers

Medal Winner
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
952
Visit site
Someone at the club has foozled and not done their job properly. If there was no score acceptable for handicapping then there shouldn't be anything on his EG record.
The club will need to reopen the Comp to correct it then refinalise it.
Or just go into the EG platform and delete the score from his record.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
15,244
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
This at best.
Since he had no intention of submitting a score for handicap purposes I would suggest he doesn’t comply with the requirements of the Rules of Handicapping and the result should be removed from his record.
They may need 2 scores to be recorded for the sake of the results of the comp.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
15,244
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
I've attached two screenshots of how it's been entered.
Yes some needs to go in the score and change all the individual scores to NS or as already suggested simply delete the score from their record.

I am surprised that the person running the comp does not know the difference between NR and NS although I see a lot of players who do not. Old habits hard to correct.
 

IanMcC

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
942
Visit site
He committed to entering a score for day 2 by paying his entry fee. Hence, he should get a penalty score of CH + CR.
 
Top