Home Sim-Set-Ups

Thread starter #1
Joined
Jul 28, 2018
Messages
759
I understand a few members of this forum have them, where is yours? Are you happy with it? Whats the Set-Up?

Moving in the coming months, have the space for an indoor home sim with suitable height and length for use with a radar unit. Looking at the options but always good to see others learnings and set-ups. Not really strict on budget however i'd be happy to spend up to £4-5k on the room. This will include projector but not the gaming pc / launch monitor as I have those. I have a flightscope tour which i'm unsure whether to keep or trade in for a unit that may be better indoors?

I've found going to the practice grounds with the unit and having to pick up my balls etc. puts me off so something indoors would be better suited to work on my swing.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
6,067
Unfortunately I don't have one (would like one for days like today), however, these bods keep popping up in my Instagram feed. If you haven't seen then already, they may be of interest https://golfbays.co.uk/.
 
Last edited:

J55TTC

Head Pro
Joined
Apr 2, 2016
Messages
1,143
Location
Surrey
I was looking into this actually but the biggest problem I have is ceiling height, they seem to be quite low in our house. OK for irons but I’d put a driver through the ceiling like Rick Shiels…
 

G1z1

Active member
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
495
I setup one a few months ago, had a spare room that was used as a junk room so talked wife into a golf room best decision I’ve made. I love mine and seen a huge improvement in my scoring. I always hated going to driving range so never really practiced but now I practice any time I want.
4FD3C0E3-C243-40DA-8C70-F067865B06C8.jpeg 1F6CDAB4-CF36-4A57-AD6C-FFE7F5B8C50A.jpeg
 

AAC

Active member
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
264
Location
Welwyn Garden City
I was told my room was too small by ppl on the forum, I only have 9.5ft and I’m 6ft1 and can full swing my driver no problem
That is very good as a ceiling height (in general terms ie not golf specific), most modern houses will be around 8 ft
 

tsped83

Tour Winner
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
2,693
Location
Leeds
I setup one a few months ago, had a spare room that was used as a junk room so talked wife into a golf room best decision I’ve made. I love mine and seen a huge improvement in my scoring. I always hated going to driving range so never really practiced but now I practice any time I want.
View attachment 41536 View attachment 41537
Your wife is amazing.
 

VVega

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
428
I setup one a few months ago, had a spare room that was used as a junk room so talked wife into a golf room best decision I’ve made. I love mine and seen a huge improvement in my scoring. I always hated going to driving range so never really practiced but now I practice any time I want.
View attachment 41536 View attachment 41537
Thought r10 requires “The tee location must be at least 8 ft. (2.4 m) from the screen” - looks less than that from your mat to the screen. Does it still work ok?
 

G1z1

Active member
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
495
Thought r10 requires “The tee location must be at least 8 ft. (2.4 m) from the screen” - looks less than that from your mat to the screen. Does it still work ok?
I think the recommendation is 6 to 8ft and mines sits 7 ft from my mat and works very well, I was originally planing to upgrade to skytrack but I honestly don’t feel the need to upgrade, the r10 does everything I am looking for.
 

Albo

Active member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
209
I looked into this in a big way during lockdown, got the green light at home to change the garage into a swing room. However, the celling hight wasnt ideal nor was the room width, I think I could have got away with it, but when I looked at the finances I didnt want to spend the money it was going to cost to have a room that required compromises in my swing (be those only using irons, or not full swing through on driver). So I pulled the plug.

There is a forum which has a huge amount of info and very helpful members golfsimulatorforum if that is in any way helpful to you.
 

sunshine

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
3,811
I was looking into this actually but the biggest problem I have is ceiling height, they seem to be quite low in our house. OK for irons but I’d put a driver through the ceiling like Rick Shiels…
You just need to flatten your swing :)
 

Toad

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 11, 2007
Messages
1,197
I understand a few members of this forum have them, where is yours? Are you happy with it? Whats the Set-Up?

Moving in the coming months, have the space for an indoor home sim with suitable height and length for use with a radar unit. Looking at the options but always good to see others learnings and set-ups. Not really strict on budget however i'd be happy to spend up to £4-5k on the room. This will include projector but not the gaming pc / launch monitor as I have those. I have a flightscope tour which i'm unsure whether to keep or trade in for a unit that may be better indoors?

I've found going to the practice grounds with the unit and having to pick up my balls etc. puts me off so something indoors would be better suited to work on my swing.
Demolished and rebuilt the garage during lockdown in 2020 all for a sim. Using the mevo +, nice bit of kit. It’s ideal as works great outdoor and very well indoor but does have limitations.
It was a struggle to begin with as was a new product but it’s got better and better each update.
My garage is 6x3.5m and 3.2m high, would have liked it a little longer but works fine can have 4 bodies in. Once you start though you will continually upgrade

 
Last edited:

VVega

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
428
I have to ask why would you get radar? Even trackman is pretty average indoors……
I venture a guess: there is a number of (more) reasonably priced radar-based options to choose from? They also come with courses included without extra ££/yr?
 

Springveldt

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
995
I have to ask why would you get radar? Even trackman is pretty average indoors……
All of the cheaper launch monitors (£600 and under) are radar based. You need to be spending £2000 on a SkyTrak for the entry level camera options.

Totally agree that camera systems are more suited for indoor. Our club recently got a swing room and the launch monitor was one I had never heard of (ProTee). Lots of complaints about the accuracy of it and I've heard the better/team players are all pushing for Trackman to be installed instead. If they are willing to pay that money then GC Quad or GC Hawk would be my vote. If they go cheaper I hope they go GC3/Bushnell.
 

MendieGK

Tour Winner
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
4,150
All of the cheaper launch monitors (£600 and under) are radar based. You need to be spending £2000 on a SkyTrak for the entry level camera options.

Totally agree that camera systems are more suited for indoor. Our club recently got a swing room and the launch monitor was one I had never heard of (ProTee). Lots of complaints about the accuracy of it and I've heard the better/team players are all pushing for Trackman to be installed instead. If they are willing to pay that money then GC Quad or GC Hawk would be my vote. If they go cheaper I hope they go GC3/Bushnell.
ProTee is pants. Uses sensors under the ball. They have to fiddle with lighting to try balance it out etc.

Gc2 is the way to go. People don’t need head data for practice. It’s dangerous without a coach.
 
Top