Help narrow down wedge options

talksalot81

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi guys,

I have been in the market for new wedges for some time and, with summer coming, it is time to get the finger out.

At present I have my PW at 46 degrees and I have a nike gap wedge and ram troon grind 58 deg. The nike is fine but old. The Ram is my favourite and least favourite club - it has almost no bounce. The importance of the last point is that I am a digger, I take big divots and my number one 'fail' is getting fat on a short club.

How I use my wedges - I really only get inventive with the most lofted wedge. With gap wedge, it will be used exactly like a pitching wedge. It may be used for chipping, but I won't care to open it up as I would just go with a more lofted club if I felt that was needed. It would occasionally get sand use, for a longer bunker shot. The sand wedge would probably be used in the same way but obviously would get routine sand use (I actually have no problem with sand play with low bounce, but I guess more would make it easier). The lob wedge would get the fun shots played. I would play full shots but want to be able to open it up. Experience tells me that I still need a dose of bounce.

I do have room for 4 wedges and I was thinking 50/54/58. With the above info, I was assuming I want a fairly standard grind on the 50 and 54 degrees and a healthy amount of bounce (14 perhaps) on the 54. The 58 I presume would need a bit less bounce but have one of the fancy grinds to help with opening it up.

Does that all sound reasonable? What options would anyone recommend?

Many thanks

groundskeeperwilly

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
Hey - there a couple of other wedge threads on here in the last few days that might provide something useful if you search for them.