Greenkeeping Question Time!

Greenkeeper

Club Champion
Visit site
Hello fellow golfers

This is a great forum and an interesting one, particularly the recent ‘pitch mark thread and ‘winter course’ its refreshing to hear so much support for the green staff and the course. I thought I should refresh this thread, and encourage more to ask questions!

I am a Golf Course Manager as well as a keen golfer, so I understand both perspectives of golf course life. I believe the biggest problem with greenkeeper / golfer relationship is a lack of communication and understanding.

The many years I have been lucky enough to be a greenkeeper, I have been asked all sorts of questions regarding the operations we do. I would like to help bridge the gap from the complexities of greenkeeping to the common frustrations of our customers ‘you the golfer’.

So if you would like to ask me questions regarding ‘greenkeeping matters’ on this site I would be more than happy to oblige.

I weight in anticipation!

Regards

The keeper of the green.

Greenkeeper

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi Basher
The simple answer is Excessive damage! This could be frost, but it may be other things like water logged or excessive traffic or just poor thatchy greens. The key is to make the course as playable throughout the year as possible by reducing the risk of excessive damage. Improved drainage, limited thatch and good grass species are all ways to reduce the need for wintergreens. I believe in extending tees so they can accommodate winter play, I don’t like mats I don’t like wintergreens albeit temps now and again maybe necessary.

Cheers

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Hi GK

Still on the winter theme we play on our greens all year round even if it's frosty all of them are U.S.G.A standard.I have never seen any damage coursed because frost. So why is it that other couses will not let their members on their greens when they are frosted over.

Driverman

Hacker
Visit site
Hi Greenkeeper,