Green Reading

Midnight

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I am crap at this and can not see if it goes one way or the other , any tips that could help me please ?

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I pick a rough line and imagine the ball rolling along it and which way it would turn. If my imaginary ball misses left I move my line a bit to the right and do it again, and so on until the imaginary ball goes in the hole.

The other thing I've read about is to imagine water on the green and which way it would run if there were enough of it.

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
Pick a rough line as Gary says but then I'd concentrate more on pace.
How often are you 2ft short or long compared to 2ft left or right?
Unless it's like the 16th at Augusta, picking a rough line and getting the pace right shouldn't leave you too far away. And I bet if you 2 putt every green your scores will drop.

Val

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
It's my Achilles heel and mainly as I'm not good with pace more than anything, I can 3 putt at least 3 times a round.

Pace for me is more vital than line.

T

thecraw

I am crap at this and can not see if it goes one way or the other , any tips that could help me please ?

Practice with your eyes shut. You'll be amazed at the results. Your distance, feel and stroke will improve no end. I'm sure it was Havret who won the Scottish Open putting with his eyes shut during the final round. He just picked his line, closed his eyes before stroking the putt.

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
how does putting with your eyes shut help you with line? distance i half understand but if you cant read the line closing your eyes surely isnt going to help

viscount17

Money List Winner
Visit site