First port of call for back problems? GP?

Aztecs27

Money List Winner
Visit site
Morning Gents (and Ladies),

Suffering with a properly sore lower back at the moment and wondering if any of you can point me in the right direction.

I've suffered with on and off lower back pain (a dull ache rather than anything debilitating) for a few years, mainly due to spending a lot of time in the car for a number of years and my bad posture.

This pain went away when I started playing american football and training in the gym (heavy weight lifting to build size and strength)...I'm assuming this was down to stronger core and back muscles. But nevertheless, I didn't get any pain on long drives etc like I used to.

I stopped playing football due to a number of reasons (laziness, time, money) so didn't go to the gym and lost most of the muscle mass I built.

As a result, over the last year or so, the pain has returned. I've began hitting the gym again to re-build some strength and was assuming that the pain would disappear again. That was until Friday, when my back was quite sore and stiff (I'd done a back workout on Wednesday, so this was nothing unusual), but decided to head to the gym on Friday night anyway for a leg and shoulder session.

Woke up saturday and the pain was a lot worse and although we were out shopping etc all day, it was uncomfortable all day..It's better today but still sore. I'm hoping that I've just "over done it" which wouldn't surprise me but just incase this doesn't ease, what's the best way to get the ball rolling on getting it checked out/sorted?