• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Embedded ball

cliveb

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
3,316
Visit site
This hasn't actually happened (yet) - the situation is from a dream I had the other night!

There's a rule that allows a ball embedded in its own pitch mark on the fairway to be lifted and dropped. Here's the hypothetical scenario: The ball is NOT embedded, but in attempting to take the next shot, the player tops it and drives the ball into the ground where it lays. Question: is this now an embedded ball that can be lifted and dropped?
 
[h=2]25-2/6[/h][h=4]Ball on Steep Bank Driven Straight into Ground[/h]Q.A player's ball lies on a steep bank in the fairway. He plays a stroke and drives the ball straight into the bank, i.e., the ball is never airborne. Is the player entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25-2?
A.No. Under Rule 25-2, relief is provided if a ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark. The word "pitch-mark" implies that the ball has become airborne.
 
Top