Driving Revelation

Range_Ball

Club Champion
Visit site
Have got to say i was never the best off the tee with my driver and most of the time either found the rough or the woods. This as you can imagine was getting me down in more ways than one so off i went to the local golf centre to have a lesson with scott the local pro. Bottom line i was over swinging the driver so he told me to shorten my back swing a fraction and we worked a bit on set up the up shot of this excuse the pun was that today i played and hit almost all the fairways this i have never done before and this made my second shot on the approach a lot easier hence sorcing 22 points on our back nine. Has you can imagine had a big smile on my face coming off the 18th. I also hit my longest drive ever at 270 yards that really made my day.
i know everyone says that a good short game is required around the greens in this i agree but i also found out today that hitting it well off the tee is just as important.

:D

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
It is important to be consistant off the tee as its easier to play 2nd shots from the cut stuff than deep in the woods. It doesn't have to be a driver everytime and a good golfer will know when a 3 wood, hybrid or iron will be the better option. That said I'm pleased it has worked out so well . The trick is to practice what you learnt and make sure you can do it everytime you play.

PS - A good short game is still a vital component to your game

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
As we all know, all parts of the game are important but sometimes it's great just to watch the drive sail high and straight down the middle. :D

CrapHacker

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
CONGRATS

I agree with Homer - a good short game is vital to your golf scoring.

But a good drive every now and then is vital to your emotional wellbeing.

If you can build up both sides of your game, then wowser.